Scrap Stock

Some kind of revolution took place before I was born, or at least before the chef side of me was born into consciousness. By the time I made my first forays into vegetarian cooking, there was a kind of stock backlash happening in the pages of all the cookbooks I read. According to all these veg-empowerment cookbooks, people used to make their stock from scraps and trimmings, but now, especially for a vegetarian cook without simmering bones and flavorful marrow to add to the pot, this was highly discouraged. We are worth it!, these books proclaimed. Worth a delicious, savory stock made from whole vegetables and bundles of aromatic herbs. I made vegetable stock from one of these recipes once. I almost cried to see pounds and pounds of beautiful vegetables reduced to a heap of mush and a pot of broth.

All the scraps, ready to go into the stock

And so the scrap stock experiment was born. For a bit more than a week I saved all the trimmings from every vegetable I ate. Brown or yellow bits went straight into the compost, but everything else was washed and put into a tightly sealed plastic tub in the fridge. At the end of the week, I made an experimental stock. I had no idea how it might turn out. Really bitter, I suspected, because the majority of the heap consisted of the green, almost leathery tops of leeks, green garlic, and spring onions. But I figured, what do I have to lose? All I’m really wasting is the water I’m adding – everything else was compost-bound. At the last minute I almost chickened out and added a whole onion, a whole carrot, just a few things to boost the flavor, but I decided to really go for it this first time and just see what happened.

Here’s what ended up going into my scrap stock pot:

Leek greens and ends
Green garlic greens and ends
Spring onion greens and ends
Swiss chard stalks
Onion ends and peels from red and white onions
Red cabbage leaves from the outside of the cabbage
Spinach crowns
Garlic ends and peels
Thyme stalks
Carrot leaves and trimmings
Cauliflower leaves
Kale stalks
Radish trimmings
Sugar snap pea tops and strings

All the scraps in a pot, turning into stock

I cut everything into pieces and then first sauteed the allium trimmings (leeks, garlic, onions) for a bit in 2 teaspoons olive oil, then threw everything into the pot and stirred it over pretty high heat for about ten minutes. Then I added 3 quarts of water, 2 1/2 teaspoons of salt, 3 bay leaves and a few peppercorns, brought it to a boil, turned it down to a simmer, and simmered it, uncovered, for about half an hour. I let it settle for a few minutes and then strained it right way (I’ve heard stock can get bitter if you let the bits sit in the broth too long after cooking). And I have to say, it is quite, quite tasty. Certainly head and shoulders above the bitter brews that pass for vegetable broth in those vacuum-boxes. I can’t wait to freeze it and have it on hand the next time I need veggie broth for something. Best of all I am so tickled to have created something really valuable from something I’ve been throwing away. There may have been a broth revolution, but I guess I’m just an old-fashioned girl.

The stock, rich and flavorful, made totally from scraps!

8 comments on “Scrap Stock

  1. Rachael says:

    I had vaguely heard of this notion of using whole eatable vegetables for making stock, but I’ve always made stock with scraps. And that’s what my parents taught me too (though they tended towards convenience of canned).

  2. scrumptious says:

    Rachael – in my family we always made stock from scraps, too, but those scraps included all kinds of chicken trimmings, so when I became vegetarian I was on my own! It’s very empowering to reclaim scrap stock. I hope it continues to work out so well!

  3. Nora says:

    Making stock from my Eatwell scraps has become one of those little rituals that make my veggie box and my week seem more well-used. Plus, my housemate can’t have onions or garlic, so if I don’t make stck from scratch, there’s really no stock at all.

    I’ve never felt the lack of whole veggies — in fact, the one time I did a roasted whole-veggie stock, I was kind of disappointed at how little difference ‘wasting’ all those lovely veggies made!

  4. scrumptious says:

    Nora – So awesome to hear another Eatweller share their scrap stock ritual. I am very interested in how the next batch will turn out, since it has asparagus trimmings and fennel tops – both pretty strong flavors. I am scared but excited!

  5. […] stock, round two I was so nervous making this week’s scrap stock! I think I was worried that last week’s good results were sheer random luck and that it was […]

  6. […] bowl of cold water to remove dirt * A large handful of lemon balm, chopped * Stock or broth (I used scrap stock, the original recipe calls for chicken broth)- about 300 ml (1 1/4 cups) per serving* * 1 large […]

  7. […] another note, I made my first failed scrap stock. It smelled SO good when it was cooking, mostly due to the great smell of the sauteed yam peels. […]

  8. […] Scrap Stock, batch V, my first successful batch since May (I had a failed attempt in late June). Because I […]

Leave a comment