Zucchini and Baby Red Onions: Week of June 25th

AT LAST!

At last a new box!

This one really deserved to be photographed, by sheer virtue of being the first box in a month, but I was too tired and all the little veggies were lucky they even made it into the fridge.

It was a handsome box, though, and really well-balanced. A person could truly get all their needs met by such a box, and a have a bag of lettuce for the lettuce graveyard, besides!

In this week’s box:

Small red potatoes
Strawberries
Turnips, with greens
Stir-fry mix
Arugula
Zucchini (3 medium-sized ones)
Baby red onions (it says “Green onions” on my newsletter, so I am confused. These were very small, red, with long, floppy tops on them)
Lettuce
Apricots (a whole strawberry-basket of tiny ones)
Cherries (the yellow and red Ranier kind)

On another note, I made my first failed scrap stock. It smelled SO good when it was cooking, mostly due to the great smell of the sauteed yam peels. But when I strained and tasted it, it was impossibly bitter. I am not quite sure why. There was a tiny amount of radicchio trim, but too little to be the culprit, I think. There were also a few lemon peels. Partway through making the stock I remembered that you generally simmer fruit peels several times in water you discard in order to make them less bitter, and that by boiling them in my stock I was making my stock that discard-water. Perhaps I pulled them out too late?

At any rate, I have tried to be fearless with my stock experiments and always open to a negative outcome. It still comes as a shock and a disappointment, however, to have to throw all that beautiful (but inedible) stock away.

2 comments on “Zucchini and Baby Red Onions: Week of June 25th

  1. Ms Heather says:

    this is a bit late, but i bet your plants would love your stock. sorry to hear it didn’t turn out to your liking. i tend to work within certain parameters when making stock, but to play freely within those. cruciferous veggies tend to make a stock go bitter, to my knowledge. i tend to think that it’s hard to have too many carrots, more onions are usually fabulous, though there is a point of no return, where it can only be used in certain select recipes if it’s too oniony. when i first started making stock i learned a lot from the greens cookbook.

    xo miss you!

  2. scrumptious says:

    Oh! Hmm… My first thought was, “Oh damn! Wasted opportunity for plant nourishment!” and my second thought was to laugh. I don’t suppose you remember my Freshman year science project (the one where L. won the fancy prize for the cricket thing)? I decided to see if giving plants “broccoli water,” i.e. water that broccoli had been cooked in, would nourish them better than regular water or water with Miracle Gro. I kept my plants in the faculty lounge (that forbidden land!) so I didn’t have to shlep them between houses.

    Conclusive data: Broccoli water does not make plants happier than regular water. (Also Miracle Gro is a rip-off.) (Also, there is good gossip to be overheard in the faculty lounge.)

    So I don’t feel quite as bad as I would have, had the results come in differently…

    Also, this scrap stock thing is an experiment in going with the flow, so in a way failure is almost a gratifying indication that I am managing to do so. I’m pretty happy with taking this course, since I’ve always heard the crucifer thing as well, but all my fabulous previous stocks have had plenty of cruciferous trimmings, to no ill effect!

    Anyways, I am in Seattle and very much thinking of you. The coffee here is almost a parody of Seattle coffee, it’s so unbelievably good. And I am drinking a drink right now called a “beautiful Stephanie” – Earl Grey tea steeped in milk, with vanilla and cinnamon. Yum!

Leave a Reply

