Energizing broccoli for the fatigued cook

broccoli
There is, for me, no vegetable more vegetable-y than broccoli. When I am craving a serious does of healthy veggie goodness, I usually want either broccoli or kale. But steamed broccoli is often just a little too plain, especially to have for several meals in a row. And something a bit more exciting, like stir-fried broccoli, is often too labor-intensive when I’m tired and just want to get dinner on the table.

But welcome to the most delicious compromise you’ll ever meet! Chopped garlic (and as a time and labor-saver you can chop the pieces fairly large because they are going to be steamed until they are mild) is thrown on top of chopped broccoli, and the whole mix is cooked in a tiny bit of water and soy sauce. One pot, no oil, no mixing sauces. Because you are cooking it in a tiny bit of water, it retains more nutrients than if you boiled or blanched it, but there’s no steamer basket to wash!

This recipe is also great for taking the bitterness out of broccoli rabe, also often known as “broccolini”. I had a friend who otherwise couldn’t stand the bitter taste of broccoli rabe, but loved it when prepared this way.

Easiest Broccoli with Garlic and Soy Sauce

1 bunch broccoli, baby broccoli, broccolini, or broccoli rabe
5-7 cloves of garlic
1/2 Cup water
2 tsp. soy sauce or wheat-free tamari

Chop broccoli into pieces. For baby broccoli or broccoli rabe you can leave the stalks whole, too. Chop garlic into small pieces. You don’t have to mince, nor do the pieces have to be pretty or evenly sized.

Combine the water, soy sauce, and chopped garlic in a medium-sized pot. Bring to a boil. Add the broccoli, cover, and cook until tender, about 3-5 minutes.

Serve the broccoli immediately, with or without the garlic pieces.

2 comments on “Energizing broccoli for the fatigued cook

  1. […] some version of the baby broccoli. I wanted a fast, simple way to prepare the broccoli and I found this recipe.  In My Box’s use of just half a cup of water to ’steam’ the broccoli, combined […]

  2. Good to know I could do it this way too. My husband hates to wash the steamer basket and grumbles when I use it. He is the dishwasher, I am the cook, generally.

Leave a comment