Cornmeal-crusted tofu cubes

Monday night I got home from a weekend away to find a house nearly bereft of food. At least, that’s how it seemed on the surface, but of course, pantry-hoarder that I am, I can always rustle up something.

I settled on Tinkyada brown rice pasta shells with TJ’s marinara sauce. To perk up this dull combo a bit I added previously-frozen green beans and sauteed red onion. I wanted something more, though, something savory and chewy. I had a half a block of tofu in my fridge (amazingly it hadn’t gone bad despite being of unknown provenance), but what to do with tofu that would make it go well with Italian-ish pasta?

I must be on a roll, because for the second time this week I managed to completely improvise a recipe. I’ve missed that feeling of imagining something I’ve never made before and just intuiting how to make it. I wanted cornmeal-crusted tofu, but I haven’t made anything-crusted-anything since pre vegan and gluten-free days. But my brain engaged handily and so I just made some right then and there. And they were awesome. I had to restrain Disher (who thinks that tofu is just about the blandest food there is, and this from a guy who normally loves bland food) from eating them all!

Gluten-Free Vegan Cornmeal-Crusted Tofu Cubes

Grapeseed oil or other high-heat oil
1/2 block tofu, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1/4 cup + 1 T. cornmeal
1 t. cornstarch
2 T. chickpea/garfava flour
Dried oregano, salt, and pepper to taste

Combine cornmeal, cornstarch, chickpea flour, and seasonings in a small bowl and stir to combine.
Pour enough grapeseed oil into a pan (preferably cast iron) to thickly cover the bottom of the pan.
Heat oil on medium-high heat.
Roll tofu cubes in cornmeal mixture and drop them into the oil. Fry them until they are a nice golden-brown, then flip them and repeat on the other side.
Place on a paper towel to drain excess oil.
Eat them while they’re hot!

In other exciting news, I have joined up with a fabulous project that I am super excited about. Bloggers Kittee (Cake Maker to the Stars), Jessie (happyveganface), and Allyson (Manifest Vegan) have started xgfxcommunity, an awesome hub of vegan, gluten-free goodness! So many of the blogs I read are vegan but not gluten-free (and are obsessed with baking wheaty cupcakes!) or vegetarian but not vegan, and so on. So they certainly serve as sources of inspiration, but are often sources of frustration or a sense of deprivation as well. But when I read the posts from any of the xgfx blogs, I can read with ease, knowing that every recipe on every blog will be one I can actually make! It’s a great feeling – I actually didn’t realize how relaxing and abundant it would feel until I experienced that kind of unfettered blog-reading – and I love that xgfx is bringing us all together in one place.

So head over and take a peek. You can always find xgfx through the pretty “Vegan Gluten Free” flower design in my sidebar (they have a great design sensibility, too – these ladies are on it!) and all our blogs link back to the hub for easy clicking about through the marvelous world of vegan, gluten-free awesomeness.

This entry was posted in Recipes.

5 comments on “Cornmeal-crusted tofu cubes

  1. Funny how some of the best recipes are created from what we have on hand and driven by hunger and lack of time. Those tofu cubes look pretty tasty and must have had a great bite to them. Off to check out the new gf community. Even though I’m not even a vegetarian, let alone a vegan, I do love the flavors, textures and creativity of the recipes.

  2. Renee says:

    S – great meal! I am getting more creative in the kitchen too, thanks to my blog. When I saw the tofu it reminded me of Book of Yum’s Southern Fried Tofu. It is absolutely delicious!! I keep the spices mixed up in the cabinet. http://www.bookofyum.com/blog/southern-fried-vegan-114.html

  3. Mandee says:

    Yum, the corn-crusted tofu looks good, I bet it would work with mushies too.

    And yay for our xgfx community!😀

  4. jessy says:

    we’re so glad you’ve joined us!!!!! and might i add that your cornmeal crusted ‘fu cubes looks crazy delicious! awesome all around!

  5. For some reason, anything that’s crusted is automatically comfort food to me, so this recipe really piques my interest. 🙂 Crust! Yay! And something like this is so versatile too. I would love to cut the tofu into slabs instead of cubes and try them in a sandwich.

Leave a Reply

