Fall flavors for a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

This week is all about fall flavors. Pears, butternut squash, pumpkin. I’m pretty excited to cook up the turnip greens that came in my box this week – I have a great recipe for bok choy and turnip greens that I haven’t made in ages. I’m generally trying to keep my side dishes simple, so there’s a lot of green salad with celery and carrots, which came in my box last week.

Vegan meatballs from last week's menu plan

Someone wanted a report on the soy-free vegan meatballs I was going to attempt to make gluten-free last week. I ended up using quinoa instead of the brown rice, and ground toasted golden flax seed instead of wheat germ. I just subbed in GF baking mix for the wheat flour. So how did it go? In general, the meatballs were delicious. As far as making them gluten-free went, if I had stopped to think about what putting over a quarter cup of flaxseed into the recipe would actually taste like I probably would have picked a different substitute. They were overpoweringly flax-y. I ended up eating them all (with help), and the texture and seasonings were great, but the flax taste was pretty intense. Next time I might use a bit of flax but I need to find another substitute for the wheat germ, or just leave it out, which would probably be okay. Anyone have any ideas?

The Gluten Free Menu Swap is hosted this week by Gluten Free Goodness with the theme of chocolate. I’m not a big sweets person, but I did have a little chocolate adventure today. My friends and I shared a cozy Sunday playing board games while the rain came down, and I took the opportunity to introduce them to the Snow Bunny, a drink my best friend and I invented on a ski trip we took a few years ago (where we knitted and played cards while the boys skied, hence the name). Mexican hot chocolate made with Wildwood soy milk, frothed in the blender, with a shot of triple sec. Divine! The perfect thing to put in your thermos and sip by the slopes, or drink from mugs while gathered around a board game with people you love.

Have a great week of cooking, everyone! For more menu plans check out the giant Menu Plan Monday compendium over at OrgJunkie!

Monday
Potato and chard enchiladas (Veganomicon)
Green salad with celery and carrots

Tuesday
Sesame noodles with broccoli (made with soba noodles) topped with broiled marinated tofu
Spicy bok choy and turnip greens with garlic and ginger

Wednesday
Pumpkin polenta with avocado salsa
Steamed green beans

Thursday
Garden loaf with maple-aprioct glaze (testing for Thanksgiving)
Green salad with celery and carrots

Friday
Quinoa salad with pears, spinach, pecans, and chick peas in maple vinaigrette
Leftovers

Saturday
Cranberry bean mole with butternut squash (cook beans ahead of time)
Green salad with celery and carrots

Sunday
Persian pasta sauce with tomatoes, walnuts, and raisins over rice spirals
Tunisian-style greens and beans (made with mustard greens from the freezer)

Shopping list: corn tortillas, broccoli, soba noodles?, avocados, 5 cups + 2 handfuls baby spinach, parsley, red onion, 16 oz. baby bella or crimini mushrooms, scallions, sweet potato, apricot jam, GF waffles, butternut squash

12 comments on “Fall flavors for a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

  1. Renee says:

    I have been eyeing that pumpkin polenta too. Maybe as a desert with chocolate chips on it…hmmm…As well, the quinoa salad with apples (don’t care for the texture of pears), let me know what you think.

    We liked the sesame noodles, hope you enjoy them too. I made a double batch of the sauce and roasted some tofu in it in the oven. Tasty.

    And I think you could probably just leave out the flax next time unless it helped keep the meatballs together…? like an egg substitute?

    Have a great week!

    • scrumptious says:

      Everything on Karina’s site always looks so yummy. In part because of her gorgeous photography, I think.🙂 I will let you know how those dishes turn out. (Provided I actually make them… I’ve planned 7 meals this week and we all know how well that usually goes…)

      Thanks for the tip on the double batch of sauce. I always prefer to have too much sauce than too little! And I am totally copying your tofu accompaniment. I love the Veganomicon broiled tofu (I think it’s VCon…) – it’s super easy and super yummy.

      I think next time I will try the meatballs with just a couple tablespoons of flax. The flavor is nice but not when it is so overpowering!

  2. pumpkin polenta with avocado salsa? that sounds BEYOND amazing.

  3. Niki says:

    That potato enchilada dish sounds delish to me right about now! Maybe I’ll give that a whirl sometime.

    Great site you have here. I hope you’ll stop by and visit me sometime soon.

  4. Johanna GGG says:

    in Melbourne (on flinders st near the cnr of degraves street if you are in the area) I have bought LSA – a mixture of ground flax (or linseeds), sunflowerseeds and almonds – maybe you could use this instead of flax – or make your own if you can’t buy it

    Enjoy melbourne! hope to hear how your trip does

  5. Johanna GGG says:

    oops – how your trips goes (not does)

  6. Cool you plan using your CSA box! I love it!

  7. lauralynne says:

    Looks yummy! I do not really like flax seed and feel bad because I know that I am turned off of many potentially yummy treats because I just can’t get over the flax. The house where I grew up was older and most of the wood work, doors especially, had been finished with linseed oil. They got sticky in the humid summers and gave off an odor which, while not unpleasant, certainly wasn’t appetizing. That odor, translated into taste, is what turns me off of most recipes featuring flax. Isn’t it funny how such a small thing from the past can continue to impact your everyday life?🙂

  8. cheryl says:

    mmmm….mexican hot chocolate! and your mole fits in perfectly too. I’m SO sorry I missed your post 1st time around. And I love the idea of persian pasta sauce.

  9. Mmmm, those noodles look amazing. Where have you found GF soba noodles? I have only seen ones made with wheat.

    Thanks for posting the update on the “meat”balls. I think that I will try them but instead of the flax I think I will try ground walnuts. I have used those before in various patties and they lend a good texture and mild flavor.

  10. Zom G. says:

    I think Deb up there is on the right track with walnuts! Those lentil meatballs are delicious and I’ve made walnut meatballs that were fabulous so lentils and walnuts combined must be even better.

    The Veggie Loaf looks great too, I’ve never seen one look so beautiful!

  11. Sandra says:

    Wow! You have/had a lot of cooking planned this week!

    The bok choy and turnip greens recipe sounds like one to steal/borrow. I could see that as a main dish with a little tofu thrown in and served over rice. Yum!

    Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

