Green apples and red grapes ~ Week of November 3rd


What a ridiculously busy week it’s been. My box arrived and I actually left it out overnight so I could take a picture of the contents the next day. But the next day I had to just put everything in the fridge when it became clear there was not going to be any time to be staging a CSA box photo-shoot. Then the day after that I hauled everything back out of the fridge to take a picture. I was going to just skip it, but I skipped it last time, and that is basically the fundamental point of this blog, right? Showing you what comes in my CSA box?

It was a nice box this week. The grapes were fantastic – perfect in flavor and texture – and I can’t wait to make turnip pickles with the baby turnips. The friend with whom I’ve been sharing all my meals lately is terribly picky but loves salad, so the lettuce will be put to better use than it usually is in this household. He loves green beans, too, come to think of it, so it looks like I scored in that department.

As a sidebar, cooking for a picky eater is actually kind of fun. I don’t have kids yet so I’ve never had to do some of the culinary contortions other bloggers have reported on; with a picky adult I feel perfectly comfortable cooking whatever I want and if he ends up not liking it he can make himself a quesadilla. But it really has been sort of an adventure. There are things he didn’t know if he liked or not, like kale (turns out he does) and things he knew he didn’t like, like nutmeg (until he ate several squares of my butternut squash lasagna last week), and I’m having a great time turning all those suppositions on their heads. And I suppose he’s doing his own share of pushing the boundaries of what I think I like – who knew I’d love Master & Commander: The Far Side of the World?

In the box this week:
Granny Smith apples (2 lbs)
D’Anjou pears (2)
Comice pears (2)
Leeks (1 bunch)
Turnips (1 bunch)
Bok choy (1.5 lb)
Green beans (1 lb)
Chard (1 bunch)
Carrots (1 bunch)
Leaf lettuce (1 head)
Celery (1 bunch)
Yellow onion (1 lb)

There were supposed to be persimmons but I must have them on my “no” list; I got yummy yummy red grapes instead. I did only get 3 out of the 4 pears, though. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

