Indian Feast

Last week I solicited your advice about what to make as a filling meal for myself and a friend who had very different dietary restrictions. You all gave me a ton of amazing suggestions, and I am so appreciative. The food blogging community rises to any challenge!

Inspiration struck after my friend replied to my request for a list of well-loved veggies and cuisines. I turned to a couple of my favorite cookbooks to whip us up an Indian-inspired feast!

I had a ton of beets and lettuce from my box, so we started off with a not-at-all-Indian salad of red leaf lettuce, roasted beets, and spiced candied pecans in a citrus vinaigrette. Then I served a couple of my favorite easy curries – Aloo Gobhi (cauliflower and potato) from Vegan Express and Sweet Potatoes with Mustard Seeds from 5 Spices, 50 Dishes – accompanied by white basmati rice and a little spiced cabbage condiment, also from 5 Spices, 50 Dishes. It was an altogether delicious, healthy, and filling meal that satisfied our different diets and our taste buds! Plus, I had so many leftovers I got to eat Indian lunches for nearly a week. That’s my kind of feast!

6 comments on “Indian Feast

  1. Wow! That looks so yummy! I’ve been really feeling the need to give Indian food another try since I’ve sort of sworn it off for my whole life (isn’t that weird? Just a mental block) but now I’d like to change!

    • scrumptious says:

      Yes! Let Indian food back into your heart! So tasty!

      I highly recommend the 5 Spices, 50 Dishes cookbook. The recipes are very straightforward and all use only some combination of five main spices, unlike most traditional Indian recipes which have spice lists a mile long. But the flavor is still excellent!

  2. mangocheeks says:

    The plate of food looks so lovely and healthy. Traditionally aloo gobi had loads of ghee or butter, though it does add flavour it tos much sometimes. I like this lighter version. Lucky friends to be treated to such a wonderful and considerate meal.

    • scrumptious says:

      I’ve never cooked with ghee, since all my Indian cooking has been vegan (no animal products = no butter). I’m sure I’ve eaten plenty of it in restaurants, though, and I do prefer my curries to be light and not too oily!

  3. Christiana says:

    Indian is such a great way to work through the CSA! I’m hoping to learn more soon.

  4. Renee says:

    Looks like such a great meal!! I am adding the 5 Spices, 50 Dishes cookbook to my Paperback Swap wish list, sounds like a great one – are most of the dishes veggie?

Leave a Reply

