Tomatoes and blueberries ~ Week of June 16th

Contents of Farm Fresh To You CSA box
Tomatoes are actually a seasonal item for me now, at least when it comes to cooking at home. I don’t know exactly when that happened, but the transformation is now complete. When I was a kid, I loved tomatoes so much I ate them like apples. (My best friend did, too, which was one of the wacky things we bonded over when we met in high school.) I don’t remember there ever not being tomatoes in the house. But I also remember them tasting waaaay better. Did tomatoes used to taste better? Like, 20 years ago? (Oh man, I’m old.)

So add together the realization that tomatoes are no longer the love-apples of my youth with the fact that they are a hella seasonal vegetable (yeah, fruit, whatever) and you get me, kicking the tomato habit. It’s frustrating because a LOT of cookbooks have recipes that call for winter or spring veggies but still want fresh tomatoes. What’s up with that? I just use canned tomatoes now, for that. Although some online grocery delivery service I was checking out cheerfully told me that the Muir Glen organic diced tomatoes had traveled 2240 miles to their warehouse. Yikes.

Anyways, today was the first box with tomatoes! I’ve always celebrated in the past with copious amounts of fresh buffalo mozzarella, basil, and olive oil, but this time around I’ll be foregoing the mozzarella. (Why does everyone love Daiya so much, and can I borrow your taste buds, please? Just long enough to eat one deep dish pizza?)

I made summer squash and onion pancakes from a new cookbook I’m checking out, The 30-Minute Vegan by Mark Reinfeld and Jennifer Murray. They seemed like they were going to be a little dry, so I used some of my wondrous tomatoes to make tomato relish, and the combination was perfection.

This box was very fruit heavy and all the fruit was good. The day my box arrived I made fruit salad with some of the melon, blueberries, strawberries, nectarines, and plums and took it with us when we went to the waterpark (whee! summer!) and all the fruit was just fantastic, perfectly ripe. Then there were other plums and nectarines that weren’t quite ripe yet, ready to eat over the next few days. Well done, FFTY!

Here’s what was in my box this week:
Blueberries
Strawberries
Nectarines
Plums
Tomatoes
Honeydew melon
Cauliflower
Chard
Butter lettuce
Nantes carrots
Summer squash

3 comments on “Tomatoes and blueberries ~ Week of June 16th

  1. veganhomemade says:

    You got cute little globe squashes! Nice. I got some lame, beat up zucchini, but it will do🙂

  2. Thanks for adding me to your blog roll! I tried the tofu aloo gobi in the slow cooker – I liked it, my partner was underwhelmed. I’ll try the skillet version next time. All that fruit looks wonderful.

  3. Christiana says:

    Completely jealous of the stonefruit down here. It looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

