White Corn and Baby Bok Choy ~ Week of May 19th

Fruits and veggies from this week's CSA box

Not much to say about this week’s box. It came, it was full of deliciousness! There was one strange thing, though. I usually use the FFTY newsletter to write out the box contents for these posts. But this time when I happened to compare the contents list of a “Regular” FFTY box (which is what I get) on the newsletter to the photo that I took of my box contents, two items were missing: red beets and red leaf lettuce. There was nothing extra or similar in my box that might have been substituted, just two fewer items than there were listed on the newsletter. Very odd! I wrote to them today, and I’ll see what they say. EDIT: I heard back from FFTY the first business day after I wrote to them and they told me they’ll let the packing house know to make it up to me in my next box. All’s well that ends well!

Giant onion, tiny cabbage

Fun with perspective! Is it a tiny, tiny cabbage? Or a giant, giant onion? (It's both!)

The corn was so yummy-looking that I cooked it up right away in one of my favorite dishes, How to Eat Supper‘s Edamame, Corn, and Tofu Succotash. There were a couple of corn worms in with those gorgeous plump kernels, but that seems to be par for the course with organic CSA corn. They were gently removed to a new life in the compost bucket. I didn’t have any smoked tofu, so I made my own, adapting the V’Con recipe for basic broiled tofu and adding a little liquid smoke.

In this week’s box:

Valencia oranges (2)
Grapefruit (1)
Hass avocado (1)
Strawberries (1 lb)
Yellow peaches (2)
Broccoli (1 bunch)
Baby bok choy (1 lb)
Green cabbage (1)
White corn (3)
Nantes carrots (1 bunch)
Celery (1)
Yellow onions (1 lb)

3 comments on “White Corn and Baby Bok Choy ~ Week of May 19th

  1. veganhomemade says:

    I get the same FFTY box on the same weeks as you, so I’ve been enjoying reading your plans for the contents! I definitely got everything including the beets and lettuce, so hopefully they’ll make it up to you.

    • scrumptious says:

      Ah! So fun! You have to check back in and let me know what you are doing with yours! (I did hear back from them today – I’ll edit the post to reflect that. Great customer service as usual!)

  2. veganhomemade says:

    The one time the left something out of my box I wrote just to let them know – They didn’t replace it, but it was just one small thing so it wasn’t a big deal.

    I used to take pictures of my deliveries (veganhomemade.wordpress.com) but I’ve been a little off my blogging routine. Want to start again soon!

Leave a Reply

