What’s in the box?


Okay, I’ll admit it. I’ve been holding out on you.

The whole purpose of this blog is to catalog my adventures in community supported agriculture, and while this is something I’ve written about thoughtfully and voluminously in the past, there’s been pretty much radio silence on the topic for the last several months. I started off this blog writing about Eatwell Farm‘s CSA, but in October of last year, after a little more than a year of weekly farm boxes, Eatwell and I parted ways. In February Duck and I gave Eating with the Seasons a try, and I gave you a detailed compare and contrast of the two services. But our Eating with the Seasons experience only lasted a few weeks. It’s really is more of a customized grocery delivery service than a traditional CSA, and for some reason it just didn’t appeal. We wondered if we were done with the CSA model, at least for the time being, but then a friend won a free subscription to Capay Farm’s Farm Fresh to You CSA and, reading his newsletter and ogling his box, our interest rekindled.

So since the end of April (has it really been that long now?) we’ve been getting a weekly box from Farm Fresh to You, and we’ve been loving it. FFTY lets you create a “no” list, so your box is semi-customized. That puts it between Eatwell (everyone gets the exact same thing) and Eating with the Seasons (you make up your box from a list of 35 or so offerings). I think this is perfect for us – we love the surprise element of a CSA box, but get frustrated when a third or more of our box is stuff we don’t like, week after week. (That would be during pepper season!) FFTY also drops the box off on our porch, rather than at a central location. It’s pretty sweet to head outside and find this treasure chest of gorgeous produce waiting on the steps. 

And yes, the produce is gorgeous. Our tomato experience this summer with FFTY has been head and shoulders above the mealy, rot-the-day-they-arrive Eatwell tomatoes of last summer. With the exception of some tasteless fruit – melons, stone fruits, and grapes – everything has been at its peak both in terms of flavor and hardiness (i.e. not going bad within a few days).

So why have I been keeping all this fabulous CSA data to myself? The answer is simply that I’ve been tired, tired with a capital “T”. (And a capital “I,” “R,” “E,” and “D,” most days.) I manage to get up a little spark now and then to put up a menu plan or write a little post about something fun I’ve cooked, but I’ve barely had the energy to unpack the CSA box (good thing I have Duck and Farmer B), much less photograph it and blog it. 

But really I think the thing I was too tired to do was write this intro post, letting you know about the new CSA and giving you the skinny on how it was the same and different from other CSAs, how the quality is, and so on. But now it’s done, and we can move forward!  So, without further ado, I give you the contents of this week’s box! (I’ll also be going backwards in time and inserting some box contents info on the appropriate dates in the blog, just so folks have a record they can consult if they are researching CSAs.) 

Week of July 29th:

Green grapes
Cherries
Krimson pears
Globe eggplant
Summer squash
Heirloom tomatoes
Cherry tomatoes
Cucumber
Lemon cucumbers
Basil
Yellow onions
Nantes carrots
Gypsy peppers (we thought we asked them to exclude all peppers, but it turns out we only checked off “bell”)

These are the contents of the FFTY “regular box.” They offer about a billion sizes, different proportions of fruit and veggies, and you can even choose to get the regular, mostly-local selection or opt to only receive produce grown in the Capay Valley.

2 comments on “What’s in the box?

  1. Ciaran says:

    Heh—welcome to the FFTY fold😉 It’ll be fun to see what you get in my off weeks (we only get a box every two weeks)

Leave a Reply

