Vegetarian, gluten-free, and in a crock pot! Menu Plan Monday

crockpot_menu
Another retroactive week of menus! This week we tried out our new crock pot (found for $10 on craigslist) for the first time. I’ve been wanting one for a while because my energy is pretty poor all day and then best late at night, so I really like the idea of being able to prep dinner at eleven or midnight and then cook it overnight while I sleep. It’s also great because Duck has started a new job where he wants to bring lunch with him every day, and the one-pot nature of crock pot food makes for great lunch fare.

The whole crock pot fantasy worked out to varying degrees. Everything took longer in my crock pot than the recipes said it would, and while some of the recipes were tasty enough, one was just gross. All three recipes I tried this week came from the same cookbook, Fresh From the Vegetarian Slow Cooker by Robin Robertson, so I won’t post them here, but I will give the page numbers and my brief reviews of each recipe at the end of this post. I am definitely inspired to continue trying to use the crock pot as much as possible – I think the system is inherently a good fit for our household. It’s just tough to find interesting vegetarian crock pot recipes – meat is more the slow cooker’s area of expertise!

Monday: Butternut squash, kale, and wild rice soup, GF cheese toast with tarragon mustard, apples and grapes

Tuesday: Wild Mushroom Risotto (FVSC, p. 110), braised baby artichokes

Wednesday: Indian Cauliflower and Kidney Bean Stew with Coconut Milk (FVSC p. 75), brown rice

Thursday: Leftovers

Friday: Ready and Waiting Bean and Vegetable Ragout (FVSC p. 72), Herb Scallion Drop Biscuits (made with 3/4 cup sorghum flour, 1/2 cup cornmeal, and 3/4 tapioca starch)

Saturday: Kale with kale sauce, black and white quinoa pilaf, Deborah Madison tofu

Sunday: Chile Verde Tofu burrito from Little Chihuahua, our favorite Mexican place

Recipe reviews for Fresh From the Vegetarian Slow Cooker by Robin Robertson:

Wild Mushroom Risotto: If by risotto you mean wallpaper paste, and by mushroom you mean salt. Blech. Never again. Was I crazy for daring to believe you can make risotto in a crock pot?

Indian Cauliflower and Kidney Bean Stew with Coconut Milk: Tasty but not in any way sophisticated. The potatoes and cauliflower came out very firm, even with an extra hour of cooking. There is a lot of good nutrition in this with the beans and veggies, and a pleasing amount of fat and mouthfeel with the coconut milk. Fine but not amazing.

Ready and Waiting Bean and Vegetable Ragout: I really liked this one, which contains white beans, parsnips, carrots, and sweet potato. You add in cooked greens at the end, and luckily I already had some cooked kale we were trying to use up. It was pretty light, not very substantial, which is why I whipped up the biscuits to accompany it. Together I thought they made a satisfying meal. Very sweet from the parsnips and carrots, and very pretty with the orange and white and green colors.

Check out the whole world of food blogger menus over at Organizing Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday compendium. Check out more divinely, deliciously gluten-free menu plans at the Gluten-Free Menu Swap hosted this week at Cooking & UNcooking. To find out where next week’s Gluten-Free Menu Swap will be, visit GF Goodness.

One comment on “Vegetarian, gluten-free, and in a crock pot! Menu Plan Monday

  1. M-Elle says:

    Thanks for posting. If you’re looking for some vegetarian slow cooker recipes I can send you some of my favourites! I inherited my Gram’s slow cooker when I went to University and loved it!!!

    Cheers,
    M-Elle

Leave a Reply

