Too hot to cook

It is really hot here right now. Here in the Bay Area we may not know much about weather as it is customarily experienced by most of the world, but that means when it does get really hot we are all totally unprepared. No air conditioning, no screens on the windows (my mom was horrified to find mosquitoes in the house) – I barely own one entire outfit suitable for 90 degree weather that I would be seen in public wearing.Strawberry Smoothie

So it was way, way too hot to cook dinner, even when I got home at 9:30 tonight. Luckily, my box came to the rescue once again! Saturday I went out to Eatwell for one of their “Strawberry Days” where CSA subscribers are invited to come pick strawberries for an afternoon. It was all-you-can-eat for free and then $1/lb. after that. I came home with enough to fill a large freezer Ziplock, and it gives me a nice sense of abundance every time I open the freezer and see that huge pile of deep red. A little yogurt, a little Santa Cruz Organic Berry Nectar, a little agave nectar, and a LOT of luscious frozen berries, and my dinner was blended and ready to be taken outside to eat on my stoop in the dark, hot evening.

Leave a Reply

