Foiled again!

I report to you live from the salad front, your brave investigator into the perverse and often baffling world of salad dressing. It saddens me to have to report that, once again, and despite a rousing attempt involving lettuce, fennel, sugar snap peas, Point Reyes Farmstead blue cheese, and strawberries, for goodness sake, we can add another strike to the list. This time the no-go concoction was a balsamic-shallot vinaigrette from Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone.

Strawberry salad, before the unfortunate dressing

Is it possible that I just don’t like dressing? The way it turns out I don’t like turnips? No, I like salad. And I often like salads in restaurants. And those generally have dressing on them. I just never seem to be satisfied with the dressings I make, no matter what I do. Whether I wing it or carefully follow a recipe, they are invariably too oily or too vinegary or too bland or too seasoned.

I feel like a salad idiot. It seems like one of those things you would joke about someone not being able to cook. “She can’t even boil an egg! Or make pasta! Or salad! Ha, ha! She can’t even cook salad!” Well, I can’t. And I am feeling quite disgruntled at this point, let me tell you. But my box continues to bring lettuce upon lettuce. And so we soldier on.

2 comments on “Foiled again!

  1. Angelique says:

    Oh my gosh, too funny. I too have always felt salad-impaired. My mom makes phenominal salads and I apparently didn’t get that gene. Being vegetarian, meat-eaters just assume I live on salad and am a salad expert. However, I almost always hate the ones I make. I’m sorry you have the same curse as me — hopefully someday we’ll break free!

  2. scrumptious says:

    Angelique – Yes! We are living proof that vegetarians are not all lettuce addicts and don’t live on “rabbit food.” We must help each other tackle the salad curse.

Leave a Reply

