Lemon Balm and Fava Beans: Week of April 16th

Contents of Week 21 box

Oh boy has spring arrived in style. Mysterious fava beans, asparagus so delicate and new it just begs to be snacked on raw, tiny sweet carrots, sexy perfumey lemon balm…

This week:

Carrots
Tadorna Leeks
Grapefruit
Lettuce
Lemon Balm (the mint-looking bunch on top of the eggs)
Spinach
Sugar Snap Peas
Kiwis
Fuji Apples
Asparagus
Fava Beans

4 comments on “Lemon Balm and Fava Beans: Week of April 16th

  1. Leah says:

    What are you thoughts with what to make with the lemon balm? I am not baking very much these days, so the suggested lemon balm cookies in the newsletter will not get made this week!

  2. scrumptious says:

    Leah – how funny, I just wrote a post about lemon balm! I LOVED it in fruit salad, with some lemon juice and honey. And I found a couple of other simple things to do with it that I am going to try out. It seems like most of the recipes online are for teas, so I may make some iced tea with it as well. Come and leave a comment on the lemon balm post about what you end up doing with yours!

  3. Omar says:

    I grew up in North Africa and my mother used Lemon Balm in her cooking very often. The one I still remember the most is a potato ragout type, with green olives and lemon balm.

  4. scrumptious says:

    Omar, that sounds unbelievably good! I don’t suppose you have a recipe, or remember the rough outlines of how she made it? I would love to try to recreate it – those flavors sounds so delicious together!

Leave a Reply

