Sugar Snap Peas and Cauliflower: Week of March 26th

Well, the box gods must have heard my unspoken prayers, because this week they finally sent me another cauliflower! I spoke to my mom today and told her there was a post up about our family recipe for “Impressionist Cauliflower” and she was like, “You know, I made it the other day, and it just wasn’t that good. It’s so strange, we’ve made it a hundred times… I was using one of those green cauliflowers…” So yeah, I think we’ve all learned our lesson. Stick with the white for making impressionist cauliflower and we’ll have to come up with a new dish to showcase our fractally friend.

In this week’s box (which, because of a busy, busy day, went straight into the fridge with no opportunity for a photo session):

Carrots
Cauliflower
Fuji Apples
Chard
Spinach
Tadorna Leeks
Hayward Kiwis
Lettuce
Navel Oranges (Duck ate one and gave it rave reviews – Oh My God these are SO good! That orange was so good! Did you try those oranges?! – I didn’t even know he liked oranges)
Sugar Snap Peas (only one of my favorite foods of all time, and they’re almost impossible to find organic, and even conventional they cost an arm and a leg)

One comment on “Sugar Snap Peas and Cauliflower: Week of March 26th

  1. […] Cauliflower I leave the decision up to you whether to use cauliflower or romanesco (but read this post before you decide), and whether to boil or steam. You want your veggie to be quite, quite tender – […]

Leave a Reply

