Oh Drama! Oh Glory! Oh Cabbage!

Four Cabbage Stir-Fry

As you may recall, I am experiencing a bit of a cabbage glut. Thanks to mom, who came to the rescue with our family’s traditional cabbage salad, I used up the Wakefield, but the fridge still boasted a red cabbage, a Savoy cabbage, and most of a napa cabbage. And then the baby bok choy arrived…

Mom to the rescue, again! While mom was reading the cabbage salad recipe to me over the phone, she kept noticing other scrumptious-sounding recipes on the same page, and describing them to me in mouth-watering detail, so I had her read them to me, too. When she got to a recipe called “3 Cabbage Stir Fry,” I knew salvation was at hand.

I gathered four friends, and together we shredded the red cabbage, the Savoy cabbage, the napa cabbage, and sliced the baby bok choy. I hauled out the giant wok, made a double recipe of sauce, and we started stir-frying. (We had to do it two batches – that was a LOT of cabbage!) The results were beautiful and delicious and filling. I’m not saying I’d go out of my way to buy three or four different kinds of cabbage to make this, but it was truly just about that good.

Recipe is beyond

3 Cabbage Stir-Fry
(from the Silver Palate Good Times cookbook)

2 T. rice vinegar
2 T. tamari or soy sauce
1 T. sesame oil
2 t. corn starch
1 t. sugar
2 C. finely shredded red cabbage
3 C. finely shredded napa cabbage
2 C. finely shredded green cabbage
(I also added baby bok choy, sliced in thirds lengthwise)
3 T. vegetable oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 t. ginger, chopped
2 T. sesame seeds
Several drops hot chili oil

1) Mix vinegar, soy sauce, sesame oil, cornstarch, and sugar in a small bowl.

2) Combine the cabbages in a large bowl, using your hands to mix.

3) Heat vegetable oil in a wok over high heat.

4) Add garlic, ginger, and sesame seeds, and stir fry one minute (beware: the sesame seeds will start popping and jumping!).

5) Add cabbages and stir fry just until wilted and translucent, 4-5 minutes.

6) Pour in sauce, cook 1 minute, tossing to coat.

7) Sprinkle with chili oil and toss to coat.

2 comments on “Oh Drama! Oh Glory! Oh Cabbage!

  1. Isis says:

    Hi! Love this recipe. We have just started getting freshtou and we get the same crazy veges that I often have no idea what to do with so yay for your blog.

    Only question with this recipe, i wonder when you made it, it turned out mushy? mine did.

  2. scrumptious says:

    Hurray! I’m so glad you like the recipe and the blog!

    I made this so long ago I don’t remember if it came out mushy. I don’t think so… What kind of mushy was yours? I think when I made it that the red cabbage in particular was definitely more on the soft than the crisp end of the cabbage spectrum.

Leave a Reply

