Carrots and Carrots and Carrots

I finally made good use of my serious stockpile of carrots. This afternoon I cooked up a delicious carrot soup that, in addition to two bunches of carrots, used a bunch of leeks and an onion as well as the carrot tops and trimmings in the stock I made for the soup. It’s so interesting to me that I can stare for weeks at an uninspiring collection of carrots getting progressively floppier in my fridge, but I’ve probably eaten at least a full bunch today alone in soup form.

Carrot Soup and Persimmon Arugula Salad with Walnut Oil

I think I’ve cracked the Salad Code, as well, although I don’t want to get too cocky just yet. I bought a deep, pleasing wooden salad bowl the other day, with these great bamboo hand-shaped salad servers. They are kind of like these, only shaped even better to make them super fun to use tossing the salad about.

So those go along way towards making salad time more fun. I was fretting about making a salad today, even though it was clearly the perfect accompaniment to my carrot soup, because I’m out of olive oil. And that is when, necessity ever being the mother of invention, I rediscovered a magical, secret ingredient I haven’t used in a long, long time.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you… Toasted Walnut Grapeseed Oil. It’s so sweet, so incredibly flavored I can’t even describe the taste but my mouth is watering remembering it and I’m kinda wondering what would happen if I tried wearing it as perfume. I mixed the lovely pink leftover vinegar-sesame seed liquid from the radish salad with a touch of the walnut oil, threw together some lettuce, arugula, and a nice ripe persimmon, and voila! Salad I went back for seconds on!

Because I had a request for it, the carrot soup recipe is behind this cut…Williams-Sonoma Cream of Carrot Soup (serves 4)

2 T. butter (or Earth Balance)
1 yellow onion, diced (when I doubled this recipe I used an onion and a leek, here)
1 clove garlic, minced
6 carrots (1 1/4 lb., diced)
2 C. stock (I threw together a quick stock of carrot tops and trimmings, garlic, peppercorns, and veggie boullion and just let it cook while I prepped the onion and carrot)
salt and pepper to taste
1 1/4 C. lowfat milk (or soymilk)

In a saucepan over med-low heat, melt butter. Add onion and garlic, cover and reduce heat to very low. Cook, stirring occasionally, intil tender but not browned, about 10 minutes.
Add carrots and stock , season with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to low.
Cover partially and simmer until carrots are tender, about 20 minutes.
Working in batches, puree carrots until smooth (or chunky, if desired).
Place saucepan over med-low heat, add milk and heat gently, stirring.

I didn’t have the ingredients for it, but the whole time I was eating the soup I was fantasizing about slurping it up with large croutons made from broiled French bread smeared with roasted garlic and topped with melted cheese. Oh yum!

2 comments on “Carrots and Carrots and Carrots

  1. Heather says:

    so what’s your soup recipe? i was going to try one from group recipes.com that involved roasting the carrots a few weeks ago, but i got as far as roasting the carrots and leaving them to wither away in a baggie in the fridge, sadly, because that coincided roughly with b’s visit. i have been buying 10-pound organic bags of carrots at costco lately, and usually eating 1-2 raw every day! i keep thinking i’ll finally try using my fancy juicer i got when i did the refresh cleanse last winter, but so far i still haven’t inaugurated it. maybe this bag of carrots will be the one. but soup would be good too!

  2. scrumptious says:

    Oh roasted-carrot soup sounds SO good! I think it would have a body and sweetness to it from the roasting – just imagining it makes my mouth water. This was just plain old cream of carrot soup (soymilk style). It’s pretty darn delicious, though, and much more appealing to me than a raw carrot. I will post the recipe behind a cut in the original post.
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

