Box Backlog!

I’ve been so resistant to the idea, because I want my goodie-box full of surprises each and every week, but I think I’m going to have to switch to every-other week delivery.

I still have left: carrots, lettuce, persimmons, butternut squash, broccoli, spinach, and radishes. Not to mention from previous weeks: turnips, more lettuce, more carrots, apples, and more persimmons. And eggs, even, now that the tide of houseguests has receded.

I’ve been so, so tired this past week, so I guess I haven’t cooked much at all. I’ve had a great backlog of a variety of leftovers so I’ve just been happily eating my way through those. I guess a box a week is too much even for this mega-veggie-lover who cooks at home almost every night and can eat a whole bunch of chard at a sitting. I tried valiantly, I really did, but the time may have come to say goodbye to my weekly delight.

2 comments on “Box Backlog!

  1. Heather says:

    I know it may be dreadful to suggest, but did you consider freezing things? I don’t know how long the CSA season is over there; it seems like it could be a pretty practical strategy here in MI. On the other hand, though, unless you have a deep freeze, freezer space goes pretty fast. I find mine is pretty much filled up here, even now that I’m living on my own. I suppose having about 7 frozen lunches and my grains in there (to avoid moth issues in my cupboards as I had on Washington Street) doesn’t help!!!
    🙂 i miss you too…. so looking forward to new years. sorry to hear you’ve been tired.

    xo

  2. scrumptious says:

    Not dreadful at all! I am quite excited about freezing. The problem with freezing veggies, though, is that, unlike glorious grapes, I have to actually prepare them first. And I don’t physically have the time and energy to be cooking more than I already am. Right now I am freezing my leftovers when I hit the point of being sick of eating the same thing several days in a row, but that hasn’t cut into my backlog…

    Have you considered airtight jars (the kind that have a rubber ring and a metal clasp) for your grains? I’ve found that does the trick, mothwise, and everyone always thinks my pantry is so pretty!

    What kind of lunches do you freeze? I am excited to hear!

    I miss you too. SO much! I am really looking forward to seeing you!

    XOXO

Leave a Reply

