Spaghetti Squash and Pomegranates ~ Week of October 10th

I didn’t have a chance to “edit” my box contents this week, so this is a box straight from the CSA. I would have held off on more potatoes, I think, but otherwise I’m pretty darn excited about everything that arrived.

Box contents:
Yukon Gold potatoes – 1.5 pounds
Savoy cabbage – 1 bunch
Spaghetti squash – 1
Yellow onions – 4
Red radishes – 1 bunch
Beefsteak tomatoes – 0.75 pounds
Collard greens – 1 bunch
Red Leaf lettuce – 1 head
Braeburn apples – 3
Bartlett pears – 4
Valencia oranges – 4
Pomegranates – 2

I’m trying to stay on top of the potato influx. This week’s will get used along with the onions in my vegan spin on a Marcella Hazan potato-tomato gratin. So yummy. The Savoy cabbage is exciting. I used to use it in ribollita (Tuscan bread soup), but I haven’t made that since going gluten-free. I do have some slightly stale but still delicious garlic-kale sourdough from Bread Srsly, so maybe I’ll give that recipe a revisit. In the meantime, I’m going to try out a recipe from The Vegan Slow Cooker for Hard Cider and Cabbage Stew. I have a sad little past-its-prime apple that will be very happy to go into stew, I think. The spaghetti squash is intriguing. So many people recommend eating it like pasta, with a sauce on top, but that isn’t super appealing. I’ve found a recipe for spaghetti squash cakes I’m looking forward to trying out. I’ll let you know how it goes.

I love all this fall fruit. Peaches and nectarines and cherries are so decadent and such a treat, but I get equally excited at the arrival of fall fruits like apples and pears and pomegranates. The oranges are very pale – a couple of them are lemon-yellow – so I’m hoping their flavor is more robust than their appearance! I see salad on the horizon as well with lettuce and radishes and tomatoes, which is good because I’ve been having serious salad cravings. The collards may go into green smoothies, I haven’t decided yet what I want to do with them. I appreciate how hardy they are because, unlike something like chard, that means I have a few days to ponder how I want to use them.

I am linking this post to the weekly CSA round-up over at In My Chucks. Go check it out to ogle other people’s boxes and get some great ideas for what to do with our seasonal produce bounty!

5 comments on “Spaghetti Squash and Pomegranates ~ Week of October 10th

  1. Brigid says:

    Your haul looks *delicious*. Seriously, I am so jealous! Our farm is skimpy on the fruit, so I need to start supplementing with some of this great autumn produce.

  2. inherchucks says:

    Pomegranates…YUM! I remember my first deliver of pomegranates last year. I hope I get some this season :)

    Thanks for sharing and linking up!

  3. jendipzinski says:

    OMG! Your blog is amazing! I love all the recipes and have already picked several that I want to try! Thank you so much for sharing. :)

  4. Tammy says:

    Sorry I’m just getting over here. I have had a lot of spaghetti squash this year and just learned that it’s super easy to pierce them and throw them into the microwave. Would love to see what you do with it as my ideas are getting repetitive.

Leave a Reply

