Artichokes and Fennel ~ Week of September 19th

What came in my box this week:
Artichokes – 3
Yukon Gold potatoes – 1.5 pounds
Baby bok choy – 0.75 pounds
Mustard greens – 1 bunch
Fennel – 1 head
Hass avocados – 2
Red beets – 1 bunch
Lacinato kale – 1 bunch
Bartlett pears – 2
Strawberries – 1 pint
Cantaloupe – 1
Red Flame grapes – 0.75 pounds

A lovely Fall box, my contents looked like a still-life when I arranged them for photographing. (I realize that technically that’s what you call any arrangement of non-sentient things that are being interpreted through an artistic medium, but you know what I mean – they looked like an arty still life.) I was especially pleased about the artichokes, for some reason. I haven’t been into them much in the past few years but I was excited to see them in my box.

I made several substitutions to my order this week, mostly prompted by an oversupply of some of the things scheduled to come in my box. I still haven’t used that poor red cabbage from several weeks ago, so I subbed baby bok choy. Red onions were substituted with mustard greens, Bibb lettuce went in favor of beets, and plums were switched out so I could get pears instead. I’m feeling super content with my Full Circle box in terms of the amount and type and quality of what I receive and in terms of how it’s working in my life right now.

I’ve also, now that I’ve switched down a box size, started ordering from Full Circle’s “green grocer” option, which is an à la carte list of additional produce and groceries you can add to your regular box. This week, once I realized I was getting beets and potatoes and that I already had scallions and carrots, I added fresh dill to my order so I could make vinegret, my ultimate Russian comfort food. I also got some locally made tea-infused tofu. I ate that today with rice noodle ramen, the baby bok choy from this week’s box, and some long, tangy chives.

Vinegret (Russian beet salad)

The artichokes are long gone – I boiled all three right away (steaming is better, I just didn’t want to babysit the pot) and ate them as my lunch. The kale and avocado will go into another perennial favorite, raw kale salad, which I think is best with Lacinato kale. I’m curious to see if I can make an appetizing green smoothie with mustard greens (what do you think?). The fennel will become roasted fennel if I’m feeling energetic, and get thinly sliced into salads if I’m not. Pear and fennel salad sounds great, actually. As for the beet greens – the best bonus vegetable ever, if you ask me: buy beets, get chard for free! – I’m thinking of trying out a new recipe, Swiss Chard ‘n’ Lemon Stir-Fry.

Raw Kale Salad with Avocado & Cherry Tomatoes

I’m linking this up to two different link parties this week! In Her Chucks continues to be a delightful – and ever-expanding – place to check out What’s In The Box? for CSA bloggers everywhere. In Her Chucks pointed me towards a blog called Gastronomical Sovereignty (great name!) that does a weekly Wednesday Fresh Food Linkup. (I know it’s Friday now, but my box came on Wednesday, so that’s gotta count for something…) The Fresh Food Linkup is meant to encourage fresh food production, consumption, activism, and awareness and should have some great links to check out.

4 comments on “Artichokes and Fennel ~ Week of September 19th

  1. inherchucks says:

    I can’t wait to try that beet salad. Looks delish!

    Thanks for linking up and sharing your delicious recipes :)

  2. Tammy says:

    I just made a kale salad like that and I love it. So surprised that you are getting artichokes right now.

  3. Alyson says:

    I wish I got artichokes in my CSA. They are one of my favorites!

  4. That salad looks tasty. If I hadn’t just used my beets for a beet & goat cheese spread I would make it today. I’m sure I’ll get beets again this fall so I’ll save the idea. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

