Red Bibb Lettuce & Dapple Dandy Pluots ~ Week of August 1st

I’m way behind on posting box contents posts. But that is the fundamental purpose of this blog so, no frills, here’s what came in my box the week of August 1st. (I didn’t record July 25th, sorry!) Oh, and by the way, I am not trying to be hip & fancy with my artistically blurry indie square-bordered photographs. When I don’t get around to taking pictures until daylight is mostly gone, Hipstamatic’s Loftus lens is actually the best way to get a light-enough-to-see shot without using a flash.

What came in my box:
Russet potatoes – 3 pounds
Honeydew melon – 1
Carrots – 1 bunch
Cucumbers – 2
Broccoli – 1 bunch
Green beans – 1.25 pounds
Mixed heirloom tomatoes – 1 pound
Green chard – 1 bunch
Red Bibb lettuce – 1 head
Zee Lady peaches – 4
Dapple Dandy pluots – 6
Santa Rosa plums – 6

Two of the peaches arrived already moldy, as you can see if you look closely at my artistically blurry photograph. It seems weird that it’s August and I haven’t gotten tomatoes in my regularly scheduled box (these tomatoes were substituted for something else – so they are available, they just aren’t going into our boxes). It’s a bummer because I pretty much only eat tomatoes July-September. Unless I’m really excited about a particular recipe, I never buy out of season tomatoes. And since my whole plan with the CSA box is to not have to go the market, I’m missing out on all of tomato season!!

Potatoes, tomatoes, green beans, and Bibb lettuce – I am definitely making (vegan) Ni├žoise salad!

Leave a Reply

