we are XGFX!

A while back I posted about joining up with the super awesome vegan, gluten-free blog hub some of my fellow bloggers put together. It has been so great to have a place I can go to surf food blogs and know that every single recipe is one I can make, every single photo is one I can drool over without heartbreak.

Well, the blog hub was just the first phase in a grand plan for vegan, gluten-free world dominance. And today, my friends, today we take over the world!!

Or today, at any rate, is the day that the kickass site xgfx.org goes live. Xgfx.org is a miraculous playland of vegan, gluten-free goodness. (A helpful definition from the site: “xgfx is the way we designate food and other items that are both vegan and gluten free. We like using xgfx because typing out “vegan and gluten-free” over and over can be tiresome.”) The site has its own blog, tips for baking and dining out xgfx style, and all kinds of resources for living the xgfx life. The parts I’m most excited about are the community recipe archive – sign up, post recipes! I have! – and the product and publication reviews. Gluten-free vegan food, cookbooks, etc., are expensive, so it’s excellent to have a place to get the skinny on the latest cookie or pretzel, especially for the stuff that sounds amazing but would have to be ordered online. No one wants to pay shipping charges to get a dud!

I’m part of the review squadron, which hopefully someday will mean free treats delivered to my door for me to pass judgement on, but so far consists of me raving fanatically about the THREE boxes of Mary’s cookies I bought and devoured. I am so happy to be part of such an awesome community – the work that Kittee, Jessy, and Allyson have done in making xgfx.org happen has been phenomenal. The site is so beautiful, the graphics and design are so engaging, and most importantly the site really fills a previously unmet need.

Pan-seared summer squash with mint and garlic, Impressionist cauliflower

In honor of the xfgx.org launch, I have designed a menu for next week that is entirely vegan and gluten-free! (That’s a little joke, see?) The Gluten-Free Menu Swap this week is hosted by Cheryl at Gluten Free Goodness with the theme of sugar-free delights. I think I’ll use this as an opportunity to put my Vita-Mix to the use I’ve been dreaming of – I want to recreate the mint-chocolate-chip raw milkshake from Cafe Gratitude. It’s made using fresh mint and cacao nibs, and it’s totally divine – I’ve been rounding up recipes to cannibalize in my attempts to recreate it, and if I have success, I’ll let you know! (I’ll probably let you know even if I fail, ’cause I kind of like talking about my cooking failures, too.)

As always, you’ll find a ton of menu plans in the Menu Plan Monday roundup over at OrgJunkie!

Monday ~ Family Passover seder

Tuesday (defrost 5 cups stock)
“I am DIY” rice bowl with black rice, chard, kale, and avocado (save some kale for African stew)
Mint chocolate raw milkshake

Wednesday (marinate tofu for tomorrow)
African stew with millet, chick peas, and kale

Thursday
The crispiest tofu with vegan ranch dressing
Fatiguer’s broccoli

Friday (start cabbage salad tonight)
Potato galette
Impressionist cauliflower
Pan-seared summer squash with garlic and mint

Saturday
Que sera silken cabbage salad
Arepas with pinto beans and vegan cream cheese

Sunday
Leftovers

Shopping list: Mint, chard, kale, avocado, 1 lb sweet potato, broccoli/broccoli rabe, garlic, 2.5 lb Yokon Gold potatoes, cauliflower, 2 lb summer squash, 2 lemons, green cabbage, vegan cream cheese

Que Sera cabbage salad

4 comments on “we are XGFX!

  1. jessy says:

    aw, shucks! thanks so super much for the kind words, Scrumptious. not only are we thrilled you’re a part of our xgfx community, but your recipes look divine, and we’re so happyfaced you’re also on the review squadron. awesome all around, my friend! thanks for all things xgfx! oooooh, and i’m digging your menu for this week. a potato galette sounds so comforting and i’m all about a good rice bowl. delicious! enjoy the rest of your weekend and thanks again!

  2. Congratulations on the xgfx community! Your picture is adorable, so glad to put a face to the name and writing. You inspired my menu this week, maybe I’ll eventually actually post it…but don’t hold your breath.

  3. ohkeeka says:

    I love it! I have to admit, going vegan and cutting out gluten (stomach issues, blech) are things that I think about a great deal and websites like XGFX (now bookmarked!) and your blog really inspire me to stop thinking about it and actually do it.

    And, as usual, your menu plan is giving me an inferiority complex. (Although being in the midst of moving is a good excuse for convenience food, right?!) The African Stew sounds especially exciting. Kale! <3

  4. Tammy McLeod says:

    Congratulations. I’ll head over and check it out as I continue my journey learning about this type of cooking.

Leave a Reply

