Love and carbs on a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

It’s turned out to be kind of a carby week. Maybe because I’m feeling tired? Culture Club was awesome. I’ll write more and post some pictures soon.

Pressure cooker potato-cauliflower curry, mustard greens with capers and tomatoes

Reviews from last week: My first pressure cooker dish, curried potatoes and cauliflower with peas, was a qualified success. I would make this dish again, equipped with a better understanding of how my pressure cooker works. Creamy corn-crusted tempeh pot pie from Viva Vegan was very good with quite unusual flavors, with a filling that includes green olives and raisins. Viva Vegan Arepas with sexy avocado-tempeh filling and Salvadorean marinated slaw were both yummy. I’ll write more about the slaw later as it is one of my new favorites. The avocado-tempeh filling reproduced the flavor of Mexican crema perfectly, but was actually a bit too creamy (especially when Farmer B and I tried to eat the leftovers for breakfast! Mayo at breakfast… not the best plan.)

Vegan overnight oats were not my favorite thing, but I’ll give them another shot sometime soon, with additional ingredients/flavorings. Pear skillet bread was amazing. I have two pears left and I’ll be making it again this week! I also made something that wasn’t on my menu last week. FoodsCo had mushrooms on sale, so I picked some up and made Ricki’s fantastic nut roast, which I’ve been eating in sandwiches all week on a new kind of vegan, GF sandwich bread I discovered at Rainbow. I’ll have more to say about all of that soon as well.

Yum! Nut roast with walnuts and mushrooms

Cheryl is hosting this week’s GF Menu Swap at her blog, GF Goodness. The theme is “food as love.” (Maybe that’s why there are so many carbs on my menu this week? Nothing says love like pasta and potatoes. Tee hee.) I spent nine hours yesterday making huge quantities of kimchi and blood orange cordial with some of my favorite people, so I am replete with food-love goodness right now!

As always there’s a massive roundup of menus from all over the web over at the Menu Plan Monday compendium at OrgJunkie.

Have a great week of cooking everyone!

Monday
Pasta with avocado pesto ADD: spinach
Roasted broccoli with lemon zest and pine nuts

Tuesday (thaw: 4 cups stock)
Asian Noodle Soup with Bok Choy and Shitake Mushrooms (Vegan Express, p.30)
Golden Tofu Triangles with Rich Peanut Sauce (VE, p. 46)

Wednesday (cube & cook sweet potatoes ahead)
Sweet potato and black bean enchiladas ADD: stripe of vegan cream cheese to each one, use green salsa
Salvadorean marinated slaw (Viva Vegan, p. 80)

Thursday (start in the morning)
Crock pot curried red lentil, chickpea, and quinoa stew

Friday
Leftovers

Saturday
Bat Mitzvah reception dinner

Sunday
Kale and potato gratin
Green salad

Extras
More pear skillet bread!

Shopping list: 1.5 lb thin-skinned potatoes (e.g. red), 1 bunch kale, fresh herb (thyme/sage), carrots

10 comments on “Love and carbs on a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

  1. cheryl says:

    I think carbs say I love you rather effectively!
    So glad you liked the pear bread, and have a lovely week.

  2. […] Scrumptious knows how to show love–blood orange and kimchi cordial.  The kale and potato gratin sounds delish, she’s got “the best broccoli of your life” and she also has pear skillet bread on the menu.  I totally have to make that soon! […]

  3. Ricki says:

    Hooray for carbs! I have to admit that I probably won’t be making overnight oats again soon, even though the “parfait” I made did taste good. . .I just prefer actual cooked oatmeal. ;) So glad you enjoyed the nutroast! :D

  4. Still haven’t tried the dang oats, one of these days…And Ricki’s nut roast sounds interesting, I haven’t seen that recipe. Is the texture similar to a meaty meatloaf?
    And yes, carbs = love for our brains! I heart serotonin!
    And I love Karina’s enchiladas, have you made them before? Awesome! I have been working on perfecting my enchilada making skills. New recipe this week!
    That noddles soup sounds good too. I have VE on my PBS wish list! Thanks for giving me the referral!
    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  5. Every single thing you’re making sounds absolutely amazing! I’m so happy to have found your blog, which is now bookmarked and put into my Yummy Blogs folder. I always wanted to do CSA, but money was too tight for a few years and then last year we had a space in a community garden (and two people can only eat so much!).

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog. I’m so glad you enjoyed my posts! The annoying thing about Blogger is that I can comment to reply, but no one will ever know it. And if you don’t have your email address set to public, I can’t reply via email either. So yeah, I just wanted to let you know I wasn’t ignoring you and I do appreciate your comments! :)

    And no, I had no idea Marimekko stopped making sheets! We had the most beautiful Marimekko bedding set and my cat Diego got ill and could no longer use the litterbox–well, yeah, had to throw away the bedding. So I’ve been using a cheap set from Target with plans to replace down the line and now I find out Marimekko doesn’t make sheets anymore! *sob*

  6. Mandy says:

    what is this gfv sandwich bread from rainbow? want.

  7. […] In My Box became a member of the “I Love Nutroast” fan club; […]

  8. janet says:

    I find Angela’s Overnight Oats to be too runny.. try deceasing the nondairy milk if you think that’s why you don’t like it.. or perhaps you just like warm oatmeal? :)

    Otherwise, I can’t wait to hear more about your favourites from this week. :)

  9. bestglutenfree says:

    Amazing recipe thanks for lovely recipes i will try it

Leave a Reply

