Love and carbs on a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

It’s turned out to be kind of a carby week. Maybe because I’m feeling tired? Culture Club was awesome. I’ll write more and post some pictures soon.

Pressure cooker potato-cauliflower curry, mustard greens with capers and tomatoes

Reviews from last week: My first pressure cooker dish, curried potatoes and cauliflower with peas, was a qualified success. I would make this dish again, equipped with a better understanding of how my pressure cooker works. Creamy corn-crusted tempeh pot pie from Viva Vegan was very good with quite unusual flavors, with a filling that includes green olives and raisins. Viva Vegan Arepas with sexy avocado-tempeh filling and Salvadorean marinated slaw were both yummy. I’ll write more about the slaw later as it is one of my new favorites. The avocado-tempeh filling reproduced the flavor of Mexican crema perfectly, but was actually a bit too creamy (especially when Farmer B and I tried to eat the leftovers for breakfast! Mayo at breakfast… not the best plan.)

Vegan overnight oats were not my favorite thing, but I’ll give them another shot sometime soon, with additional ingredients/flavorings. Pear skillet bread was amazing. I have two pears left and I’ll be making it again this week! I also made something that wasn’t on my menu last week. FoodsCo had mushrooms on sale, so I picked some up and made Ricki’s fantastic nut roast, which I’ve been eating in sandwiches all week on a new kind of vegan, GF sandwich bread I discovered at Rainbow. I’ll have more to say about all of that soon as well.

Yum! Nut roast with walnuts and mushrooms

Cheryl is hosting this week’s GF Menu Swap at her blog, GF Goodness. The theme is “food as love.” (Maybe that’s why there are so many carbs on my menu this week? Nothing says love like pasta and potatoes. Tee hee.) I spent nine hours yesterday making huge quantities of kimchi and blood orange cordial with some of my favorite people, so I am replete with food-love goodness right now!

As always there’s a massive roundup of menus from all over the web over at the Menu Plan Monday compendium at OrgJunkie.

Have a great week of cooking everyone!

Monday
Pasta with avocado pesto ADD: spinach
Roasted broccoli with lemon zest and pine nuts

Tuesday (thaw: 4 cups stock)
Asian Noodle Soup with Bok Choy and Shitake Mushrooms (Vegan Express, p.30)
Golden Tofu Triangles with Rich Peanut Sauce (VE, p. 46)

Wednesday (cube & cook sweet potatoes ahead)
Sweet potato and black bean enchiladas ADD: stripe of vegan cream cheese to each one, use green salsa
Salvadorean marinated slaw (Viva Vegan, p. 80)

Thursday (start in the morning)
Crock pot curried red lentil, chickpea, and quinoa stew

Friday
Leftovers

Saturday
Bat Mitzvah reception dinner

Sunday
Kale and potato gratin
Green salad

Extras
More pear skillet bread!

Shopping list: 1.5 lb thin-skinned potatoes (e.g. red), 1 bunch kale, fresh herb (thyme/sage), carrots