A busy girl’s vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

The last few months have been so busy! I almost never get my menu plan written and posted on Sunday nights anymore, and I’m lucky if I actually make even three or four of my planned meals. I am having a ton of fun, though, so no complaints! This week I’m going to try to focus on really simple food that I can make in the squeezed-time between social events! Of course it’s me we’re talking about… so wish me luck with that whole “really simple” thing!

Falafel with GF pita, baba ganoush, and turnip pickles, from last week's menu plan

This week’s Gluten Free Menu Swap is hosted by Heather of Celiac Family with the theme of potatoes. I try not to eat too many white potatoes, but they are a marvelous treat! I have some pretty fingerling potatoes that came in my box and I’m planning to make vegan Nicoise salad with them this week. I absolutely love potatoes in Nicoise dressing (minus the anchovies, of course)! I’ll also try to pick up a few more potatoes and a cauliflower at the farmer’s market on Wednesday so I can make yummy and super-easy Tofu Aloo Gobi from Vegan Express. Other simple potato favorites are wasabi mashed potatoes and of course putting leftover french fries into decadent breakfast tacos (the recipe link isn’t vegan, but I make them now with vegan cream cheese and no scrambled egg. No less delicious!).

For a huge selection of menu plans, check out the Menu Plan Monday compendium over at OrgJunkie, the lovely lady who keeps this whole menu-plan ball rolling, all over the web!

Nicoise Salad (on this week's menu)

Monday
Nicoise salad with green beans, tomato, and fingerling potatoes

Tuesday
Pasta with caramelized fennel and zucchini

Wednesday
Tofu aloo gobi
Brown basmati rice

Thursday
Edamame and Smoked Tofu Succotash
Quinoa

Friday
Polenta (cooked in rice cooker)
Steamed broccoli
Olive tapenade

Saturday
Kale with kale sauce
Creamy chickpea curry
Quinoa

Sunday
Sloppy sushi with brown sushi rice, shitake mushrooms, avocado, and cucumber

Shopping list: 3 zucchini, 2 large potatoes, 1 head cauliflower, smoked tofu, frozen edamame, 2 ears corn, 3 large tomatoes, red onion, scallions, broccoli, kale, cucumber

3 comments on “A busy girl’s vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

  1. [...] out the wonderful vegan menu plan at In My Box this week. Scrumptious has fingerling potatoes that she’s putting in a Nicoise Salad. [...]

  2. Thanks for joining the menu swap this week. You always bring an exciting variety of meals to the roundup.

  3. Sandra says:

    Good luck with the simple menus! The Nicoise Salad looks Super! And those Turnip Pickles are a serious plate brightener! :-)

Leave a Reply

