Green beans and red plums ~ Week of October 6th


Super beautiful, full, lush box today! (Although no replacements for the missing stuff from last week… Still haven’t heard back from FFTY in response to my email. Boo.)

I ate one of the heirloom tomatoes with my dinner tonight and finally got a delicious tomato from my box! All summer they’ve been kind of watery and/or tasteless. But I just couldn’t get enough of the one I had tonight. (It’s the funny, pointy-looking red one in the picture.)

I’m really excited to have so many greens! The chard and collard greens make me purr with dark-leafy-green contentment. I need to be better about salad to use up the lettuce and arugula. And I have no idea what I’m going to do with all that cilantro… I should add that to my veto list!

Here’s what came in my pretty box this week:
Fuji apples (1 lb)
Red plums (1 lb)
Valencia oranges (2)
Leek (1)
Chard (1 bunch)
Collard greens (1 bunch)
Green beans (1.5 lbs)
Arugula (1 bunch – to replace the sweet peppers on my veto list)
Radishes (1 bunch)
Romaine lettuce (1 large head)
Mixed heirloom tomatoes (1 lb)
Cilantro (1 bunch)
Fennel (1 small bulb)
Fingerling potatoes (1.5 lbs)

5 comments on “Green beans and red plums ~ Week of October 6th

  1. Cilantro pesto!!! Lots of salsa! Or does it taste like soap to you?

    • scrumptious says:

      I do think it tastes like soap, but I have cultivated an enjoyment of it in Indian and Mexican food nonetheless. But cilantro pesto sounds like… well, like soap pesto. Perhaps I can give it away!

  2. Aji sauce. I have a good one on my blog. It’s a perfect accompaniment to vegan tacos. Add enough hot pepper and you’ll never even know it’s cilantro. Or dump it into a baba ganoush!

  3. Tammy McLeod says:

    That is really an abundant box! I love those fingerling potatoes but fennel is my favorite. And collards. And…

  4. mangocheeks says:

    The fingerling potatoes look rather special.

Leave a Reply

