Fennel and pears ~ Week of August 25th


Fennel and pears? What is this, fall? Or do I just have a messed-up notion of when it’s pear season? OR is it the end of August and I’m still vainly clinging to summer (maybe because we’ve had exactly THREE days in the last three months where the weather could be described as “nice”) while the rest of the world and the growing season have moved on?

Well, mine is not to question why. Mine is just to get the goodies in the box and try to cook and eat them all before they turn to disgusting babyfood-like sacks of mush. (Sorry, pears from the last box! I just wasn’t ready to eat pears yet!)

Here’s what came in my box this week:
Cantaloupe
Peaches (3)
Lemon cucumbers (3)
Lettuce (2 heads – I think one was to sub for bell peppers, which are on my veto list)
Fennel (massive)
Apples (2)
Pears (2)
Broccoli (2 stems)
Heirloom tomatoes (a bazillion)

One comment on “Fennel and pears ~ Week of August 25th

  1. Erin says:

    I thought the same thing when I saw pears and apples this week! Fall already?!? Sadly, my peaches went bad almost immediately.

Leave a Reply

