I (heart) courgettes on a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

Unbelievably, I haven’t gotten sick of zucchini and summer squash yet this summer. I think I’ve eaten more than usual, but I’ve managed to keep the recipes rolling. Peter Berley’s Fresh Food Fast has been especially helpful for this as many of the seasonal summer recipes call for squash. But I’m kind of nearing the end of my creativity with summer squash, so I am leveraging my position as organizer of this week’s Gluten Free Menu Swap to try to get all my fellow GF bloggers to feed me their favorite recipes.

Pan-Seared Summer Squash with Garlic and Mint

For those who are unfamiliar, the Gluten Free Menu Swap is a wonderful weekly event organized by Cheryl of Gluten Free Goodness. Gluten-free bloggers from all over the net (and the world!) get together to share our menu plans and our inspiration for the week.

This week I have a ton of tomatoes left from my box, four cucumbers (!) and of course a good amount of summer squash as well. I also have a bunch of lettuce I really, really should use up! The rest is kind of up to me as it is a farmer’s market week, rather than a CSA box week. Other considerations are a ton of plans (I hope I even have time to cook!) and a houseguest coming later in the week. I don’t know his tastes (we haven’t seen each other in almost ten years!) so I’ll likely end up switching things around.

Salad rolls with kitchari and tomato relish

For summer squash this week, I’ve got my new favorite summer recipe, Pan-seared summer squash with garlic and mint, plus an eggplant stew with zucchini and chick peas, and Korean noodles with zucchini and kale. I’m eager to see what other squash delights are on the menu this week in the gluten-free blogging world!

And of course don’t forget to check out OrgJunkie for a ginormous round-up of Menu Plan Mondays from all over the world!

Monday
Kitchari (red lentil and quinoa mixture) with tomato-basil relish (I’ll try to post the recipes later this week)
Cucumber salad made with lemon cucumbers and red onion (Fresh Food Fast, 89)

Tuesday
Chana masala (Vegan Express, 99)
Pan-seared summer squash with garlic and mint
Salad of chopped tomato, basil, and cucumber with Annie’s Goddess dressing

Wednesday
Spicy summer bean and chickpea salad with harissa vinaigrette (FFF, 125)
Fresh corn polenta with sauteed cherry tomatoes (FFF, 126)

Thursday
Middle Eastern eggplant, zucchini, and chickpea stew (manazilet badhinjan)
Tomato salad with marinated shallots
Gluten-free pita bread (this is totally overambitious, but I made hot pockets last week, so it could happen…)

Friday
Pasta with spicy vodka sauce, cherry tomatoes, and seasonal veggies
Green salad with citrus dressing

Saturday
leftovers

Sunday
Jap Chae (shiritaki noodles with carrot, zucchini, and kale)
Brown rice
Kim chee

Shopping list: 1 large/2 med ears of corn, 3 pint cherry tomatoes, 1/2 lb green beans, 1/2 lb wax beans, small red onion, med eggplant, 2 med zucchini, other veggies for pasta (whatever looks good), 1 bunch kale

As for my fellow GF menu planners? What tantalizing treats will they be concocting for themselves and their loved ones this week?

Renee of Beyond Rice and Tofu and I wish we were neighbors because we always want to gobble up what the other has planned! This week Renee solves the “what do I do with too many summer squashes” dilemma by just foregoing them entirely, and turning her attention instead to a weeklong feast of spicy tofu, red beans and rice, and two different cucumber salads that sound like summer personified! Renee is headed out of town this week – Bon Voyage!

Wendy at Celiacs in the House gives us some gorgeous farmer’s market eye candy and has frozen a brilliant assortment of summer bounty to keep her going through the winter (jealous! I totally want to do that but I never manage to…). She gets zucchini into a yummy quinoa salad and makes it into ribbons to accompany homemade gnocchi! Pasta salad and kale pizzas also have me salivating and planning a little “neighborly visit” in her direction. Wendy is also headed out of town – Bon Voyage to you as well!

Heather of Celiac Family makes a decadent-sounding chocolate chip zucchini bread (wow!) and likes her zucchini cooked simply, grilled or sauteed. Sounds good to me! Heather takes a trip around the world this week with chicken enchiladas, beef and broccoli stir fry, and a new recipe for lamb chops with garlic mashed potatoes. She also has sweet potato fries planned, which are one of my very favorite foods. I haven’t had them in ages – looks like Tuesday I’ll be popping by Heather’s house just to see how her week is going (and snag a few fries…).

12 comments on “I (heart) courgettes on a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

  1. I’m coming to your house this week or turning vegan, or both. My post is up:

    http://celiacsinthehouse.blogspot.com/2010/08/gluten-free-menu-swap-august-16.html

    Thanks for hosting.
    Wendy

  2. Thanks for hosting this week. My menu is posted @http://celiacfamily.com/menu-plan-august-15/
    That pan seared summer squash looks great. Think I’ll have to try that this week.

  3. […] week, the Gluten Free Menu Swap is being hosted at In My Box. Zucchini and other summer squash is the theme ingredient. I […]

  4. This sounds delicious, especially the salad with Annie’s Goddess dressing. Yum! I’d like to head more to the vegan end of the spectrum.

  5. Olivia says:

    It all sounds yummy! I especially like the idea of salad rolls. I think I might have to try that some time!

  6. kandi says:

    hey! :) here is a link to the 30 minute vegan cookbook i’ve been using! :)

    thanks for stopping by!

    • scrumptious says:

      Kandi, that is the cookbook my kitchari is from this week! Have you made it yet? It definitely needs the “extras” listed at the bottom of the recipe, but it has become one of my favorite quick and easy dishes.

  7. Sandra says:

    Very enticing menus this week! I agree – the summer squash looks delicious! I am anxiously awaiting the currently one inch long summer squash on my rooftop garden.:-)

  8. Zom G. says:

    Ah! Eggplants and zucchini dealt with in one quick dish? This is the answer to my late summer prayers, for sure! Plus two excellent veggie cookbook recommendations…well, well, well.

  9. cheryl says:

    Thanks so much for hosting…I’m swamped and didn’t get a chance to post. But I love the picture you’ve got of the squash, and I look forward to your Kitchari post.

  10. Laura says:

    Yum! I always want to jump out of my familiar, comfort food rut when I read your menus. They always look so fresh and yummy. The zucchini and pea risotto is actually from Fresh Food Fast, which I see you have mentioned in your plan for this week. I really, really love that book, by the way. :)

  11. Laura says:

    Wait, I lied. I was thinking of the Everyday Food cookbook, although I’ve checked Fresh Food Fast out from the library, too. The Everyday Food cookbook is called Great Food Fast.

Leave a Reply

