An impeccably seasonal vegan, gluten-free menu plan Monday

This week and last I’ve been trying out menus from the cookbook Fresh Food Fast by Peter Berley. (Review to come!) The cookbook is organized into four chapters of seasonal menus, and each menu has two different dishes meant to complement each other. I’ve flipped through seasonally-organized cookbooks before, and even cooked from a few, but this cookbook is truly impeccably seasonal. at least as far as the summer menus are concerned. When I take my produce list to the farmer’s market, every single item on there is available. Even when I think something won’t be there (“Oh, I haven’t seen yellow wax beans. Maybe none of the farmers at my market are growing them.”), I have inevitably found someone selling it. It’s pretty amazing!

On the other hand, I did get kind of sick of corn, tomatoes, and zucchini at some point last week. But hey, it’s what is actually in season. Fancy that! I know I’ve mentioned this before, but this market is really making me feel connected to the seasonality of my food. Getting to taste twelve different kinds of peaches, nectarines, and plums every week and pick out which ones are tastiest right then is like my idea of heaven. This week it was Arctic Jay nectarines and some kind of nectaplum (!!) that I can’t recall the name of.

This week’s Gluten Free Menu Swap is hosted by Heather of Celiac Family with the theme of tomatoes. Speaking of seasonal… This is a perfect theme for me this week as my box preview tells me I’ll be getting a pound of heirloom tomatoes, a pound of slicing tomatoes, and a basket of cherry tomatoes. So I’ll be excited to see what my fellow GF swappers are doing with their tomatoes this week! My plans are pretty simple – three different tomato salads, one of them topping a pizza! – but I’ll also hopefully try something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time – Roasted Tomatoes! I’ve always been both intrigued and intimidated, but the glut of tomatoes I’ll be getting this week has inspired me to just go for it. A few other delicious things I’ve done with tomatoes in the past are a Cook’s Illustrated Fresh Tomato Soup with Basil, Summer Bounty Gratin with tomatoes, zucchini, potatoes, and basil (best way to use up summertime CSA boxes!), and my favorite Raw Kale Salad with Avocado and Cherry Tomatoes (ooh, that’s what I should use my cherry tomatoes for!).

As always, there’s a big ol’ roundup of menu plans today over at OrgJunkie, so be sure to check that out as well!

Monday
Pizza with kalamata olives, vegan mozarella, and chopped salad (FFF, 130)
Assorted summer squashes pan-seared with garlic and mint (FFF, 131)
Impressionist cauliflower

Tuesday (cook 1 C. brown long-grain rice ahead of time)
Golden tofu triangles with rich peanut sauce (Vegan Express, 46)
Steamed broccoli
Nasi goreng (Indonesian fried rice) with homemade kecap manis

Wednesday
Szechuan-style tofu with eggplant (Vegan Express, 56)
Fatiguer’s-style gai lan
Quinoa

Thursday
Roasted cauliflower and zucchini
Green salad with citrus vinaigrette
Baked sweet potato

Friday
Leftovers
Tomato salad with marinated shallots

Saturday
Chana masala (Vegan Express, 99)
Curried cashew quinoa (Vegan Express, 93)
Salad of chopped tomato and cucumber with Annie’s Goddess dressing

Sunday
Leftovers
Roasted tomatoes

12 comments on “An impeccably seasonal vegan, gluten-free menu plan Monday

  1. gaile says:

    is Annie’s Goddess Dressing gluten free now!? How exciting! When did that happen!?!

    • scrumptious says:

      Annie’s Green Goddess dressing is gluten-free but not vegan. Their Goddess dressing is vegan but not gluten-free. Luckily I can handle the tiny bit of wheat in the vegan version. I’ve never had the Green Goddess one, since it contains sour cream, etc., so I don’t know if it is similar to the vegan dressing or not.

  2. cheryl says:

    yay roasted cauliflower! does zucchini take the same amount of time to roast?

    • scrumptious says:

      I will let you know when I find out, Cheryl! One recipe I found had you roasting the cauliflower and zucchini together, with the cauli cut small and the zucchini cut fairly thick. So, hopefully!

      • Green V-Neck says:

        I have found that, since cauliflower is denser than zucchini, as long as they are sliced/chopped to approximately the same thickness you can roast them together. Toss w/ some olive oil, s&p and you are good to go. 450 degrees for about 15 minutes, a little less if you cut smaller, and a healthy sprinkling of crushed red pepper adds a nice touch.

        Alternatively, you could toss with a little safflower oil, tamari, minced garlic and just a dash of toasted sesame oil. Amazing over rice w/ a peanut sauce.

  3. Green V-Neck says:

    I love reading your menus, I need to get back on the MPM wagon. I have been sort of planning, except for tonight when it was 5:15 and I had no idea what to do. I threw together an AWESOME dinner and I have red lentils to thank!

  4. Looks like a wonderfully fresh menu. Thanks for joining the menu swap this week.

  5. […] are lots of tomatoes on this week’s menu at In My Box: tomatoes on a pizza, tomato salad with shallots, tomato and cucumber salad, and roasted tomatoes. […]

  6. Susan says:

    The chana masala and curried cashew quinoa sound soo good! Chickpeas, cashews, and quinoas are some of my favorite food. Seeing your menu reminds me that vegan food can be most excellent. :)

  7. So jealous of your peach and nectarine tasting options and all the veggies you’ve packed into your week.

  8. Hey! Thanks for stopping by my site on Menu Plan Monday! I wanted to recommend Beyond Rice and Tofu. It’s a FABULOUS Vegan, gluten free blog! I love everything she posts! :)

    http://beyondriceandtofu.com/

Leave a Reply

