Cali-Mex Feast

Last night, according to my menu plan, I was supposed to make Raw “Pasta” Puttanesca from The 30-Minute Vegan, using zuchinni strips as the “noodles.” But I’d had Salade Nicoise the night before, and Epic Salad the night before that, and I was beginning to feel the early warning signs of vegan, gluten-free crankiness. You know, the unsatisfied feeling you get when you haven’t had anything substantial pass between your lips in a few days? It’s not hard to eat satisfying, filling meals that are vegan and gluten-free, but it’s all too easy not to, as well.

Yesterday morning I went online to find out if Trader Joe’s sells brined olives of any sort (I had to make a Two-Buck Chuck run and figured I’d grab some olives for the Puttanesca at the same time) and came across a curious blog called Cooking with Trader Joe’s. As far as I can tell the women who write it are unaffiliated with Trader Joe’s, although they have also written two cookbooks about cooking using ingredients found at everyone’s favorite food emporium. I started scrolling through their recipes, fascinated, until my attention was arrested by a delicious-looking pile of goodness called Tamale Bake. The recipe for Tamale Bake called for three zucchini… the very zucchini I’d been planning to slice up into fake, raw, cold noodles. The idea of something hot, filling and gooey immediately trumped fake, raw, and cold. I jotted down the ingredients and took my list to TJs.

As promised, I was able to find all of the ingredients for Tamale Bake at Trader Joe’s, though I didn’t need zucchini since of course that was what I was trying to use up from my box. I bought the soy chorizo and the bottled enchilada sauce (WARNING: it contains FLOUR, as does, apparently, most traditional enchilada sauce – wtf?), found two cans of black beans and picked up some sliced mushrooms and a can of sliced black olives. But when it came time to get the two tubes of precooked polenta, I balked. It was FOUR dollars for two tubes. I can’t remember how much bulk polenta costs at Rainbow, but it’s certainly not four dollars for a couple of cups of dry polenta. Before I realized how easy it is to make polenta in the rice cooker, I might have treated myself to the convenience of the tubes, but I have no excuse now for not making it from scratch.

I assembled my Tamale Bake, which was both easy and convenient, and while it was in the oven I pondered proper accompaniments. I’d just received a beautiful little watermelon in my box, as well as some lovely peaches that needed to be eaten right away. I decided to start with the yummy Mexican snack of chile and melon, so I sprinkled slices of the watermelon with chili powder. I also made a gorgeous fruit salad with watermelon, peaches, and grapes from my box and strawberries and blueberries from TJs. I rounded out the meal with a salad of CSA lettuce, Persian cucumbers, green onions, and toasted pepitas (pumpkin seeds) with an avocado-lime-cilantro dressing. I improvised the dressing based on several others I found online and it ended up way too sweet (curse you, agave nectar!). I liked the concept a lot but I’ll need to keep working on the execution.

Nothing was authentic, of course, but as a native Californian who grew up eating California Mexican food, I do feel I have a certain amount of leeway in improvising “Cali-Mex”-style dishes. And what could be more Cali-Mex than a pseudo-Mexican meal involving locally, sustainably grown veggies and soy chorizo? When the timer went off and I pulled my tamale bake out of the oven, I felt I had a winner on my hands. And I was right – it was delicious, filling, a bit healthy, and very, very satisfying.

Tamale Bake
This recipe is slightly adapted from a recipe from the blog Cooking with Trader Joe’s. It would make a fabulous potluck contribution and makes wonderful leftovers.

2 cups dry polenta
1 tsp salt
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 large onion, chopped (I used a red onion)
4 zucchini, sliced
Sliced mushrooms (I used a “bag’s worth” from TJs)
1 can sliced olives
1 package Trader Joe’s Soy Chorizo (unlike most meat subs, does not contain any gluten!)
2 (15 oz) cans black beans, drained
1 cup Enchilada Sauce (TJ’s contains flour – a nice thin red salsa, which they have at TJs, could be a good substitute)
1/4 cup cilantro (optional)

In a rice cooker, combine 2 cups dry polenta and 1 tsp salt with 6 cups water and cook on “white rice” setting. Test for doneness, and stir thoroughly when finished. (You can also cook polenta with the same proportions in a pot.)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Heat olive oil in a large pan over medium heat. Saute onions for 5 minutes. Add mushrooms and saute until they begin to soften, then add zucchini and cook 5 minutes longer, until zucchini is tender.
Lightly grease a 9″x13″ baking pan with Earth Balance. Spread half the polenta on the bottom of the pan. Sprinkle on half of: the chorizo (remove it from its plastic casing!), black beans, sliced olives, onion/zucchini/mushroom mixture, and enchilada sauce or salsa. Spread another layer of polenta on top and then sprinkle on remaining half of ingredients.
Bake for 30 minutes until casserole is piping hot. Sprinkle cilantro evenly on top.

Back in the day, a Moosewood recipe for Tamale Pie used to be one of my staple recipes. It was great to bring to potlucks because it was vegetarian, filling, and always super popular. I’ve thought about it often over the years. First when I went gluten-free I thought about what a drag it would be to make the cornbread topping GF, and then once I went vegan it seemed impossible – the dish would just be too dry and not nearly gooey enough with no cheese added. But this recipe takes care of all of these dilemmas and more! Which makes it a perfect dish to submit to Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays – all the indulgence of a favorite dish, with none of the ingredients I can’t or don’t want to eat. Check out the other great indulgences this week for more inspiration!

While I’m at it, this is a perfect and pretty submission for Tasty Tuesdays and Tuesdays at the Table! Tuesdays are a big day for food round-ups, it seems!

11 comments on “Cali-Mex Feast

  1. I am going to have to check out the Cooking with Trader Joe’s blog…we are huge fans! When we were looking for a new job for my husband a couple years ago, one of the first things I looked up was whether there was a TJ’s nearby – it was one of the determining factors into whether we would consider that city. Crazy, huh?! Luckily Albuquerque has two now! And even though their polenta was expensive, they are surprisingly cheap on the basics. I know – we did a lot of comparison shopping when my husband was laid off for 9 months.

    Anyway, great improvisation! And I know what you mean about having too many things that feel “light”. My husband feels that way about quinoa-anything. To him it just doesn’t feel substantial enough for a meal. But for me it is a lovely light meal.

    That avocado-lime-cilantro dressing sounds delightful and right up our alley too. Let us know when you get it right. I love that you can get avo’s at TJ’s so cheap year around.

    • Oh yeah, forgot to say too – isn’t that soy chorizo great?! We really like it. And yes, most canned enchilada sauces contain gluten. Crazy people, why would they do that? It is similar to here in New Mexico where they put flour in their red chile and frequently in their green chile too. Although green chile is more likely to be made with cornstarch. I have only tasted red chile once when a former coworker made some with cornstarch for me and another of her GF friends. It was totally sweet of her. And she found she liked the flavor better.

      • scrumptious says:

        Yes, what’s up with that whole flour-in-enchilada-sauce thing? It means that all this time I’ve been ordering enchiladas, thinking they’re GF since they’re made with corn tortillas, and they really aren’t? Luckily I’m only wheat-intolerant, so a little bit doesn’t do me in, but I really do try to avoid it… I guess I don’t eat enchiladas in restaurants anymore since they’re usually made with meat or cheese. I just eat my Amy’s frozen ones and those I know are GF.

    • scrumptious says:

      I wish we lived near each other, Renee, because I have a giant jar of this dressing and I don’t know what to do with it. I’d love to be able to pass it on to you to see if you can doctor it into edibility. I mean, it’s edible, I ate it, it was fine – I just don’t want to eat it again. And yet I am not going to be able to throw out my jar of dressing til it rots, because that’s just how I roll, it seems.

  2. Jessi says:

    Looks Yummy!
    Thanks for visiting my blog – I’m still getting my CSA and using my vitamix, but I got tired of my camera. I had to set up lights, and a tripod, just to get an ok picture from my point-n-shoot. But, I just got a dSLR and I’m totally back in action! Image stabilization here I COME!!!

    • scrumptious says:

      Oh my goodness, I know how that goes! I really, really want a dSLR because the photo thing is such a drag with my little ancient Canon point and shoot. I’ll be eager to see how things go for you with the new camera!

  3. damaris says:

    that watermelon looks perfect.

  4. Sandra says:

    The Tamale Bake looks delicious! I love the idea of using polenta. Sadly, I produced an offspring that doesn’t eat zucchini. But I could see this topped with tomatoes and some fresh corn. Yum!

  5. Christiana says:

    Love it! Looks endlessly adaptable too. Hmmmm…

  6. Tammy McLeod says:

    I have soooo much squash in from my CSA that I don’t know what to do – or at least I didn’t until I read this. Thanks.

  7. […] Scrumptious @ In My Box (GF, veggie-filled Tamale Bake)18. Lindsay @ Kitchen Operas (GF Mulberry Lemon Polenta Muffins)19. Prosciutto Bacon, Steamed […]

Leave a Reply

