Starting out simple with a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

Rice shells with broccoli rabe, arugula, and homemade tomato sauce

It’s been a long holiday season. I’m pretty tired and looking forward to some downtime to recover my energy. So for the first menu plan of 2010, here’s a simple menu plan for a (hopefully) simple week. I even found some pages of the Moosewood Cooks at Home cookbook that are online through google books, so I was able to link to the original recipes for you. Doesn’t get more simple than that! Almost everything else isn’t based on a recipe – it’s more a “throw a sweet potato in the toaster oven” and “simmer a can of diced tomatoes into a pot with spices and other stuff from the fridge” kind of week.

Monday
“Sloppy” sushi with Moosewood broiled tofu and Asian cabbage salad (made with Savoy cabbage) and toasted cashews

Tuesday
Butternut squash and sage soup, Udi’s GF toast with almond butter

Wednesday
Rice pasta shells with broccoli rabe, arugula, and homemade tomato sauce with Sicilian black olives, capers, red onion, garlic, baby potatoes, thyme and marjoram

Thursday
Braised kale with sesame oil, Veganomicon broiled lemon tofu with tahini sauce, brown rice

Friday
Baked sweet potato, polenta with tempeh bacon

And that’s it, because honestly I’ll be lucky if I make that many meals this week, and the rest will be Little Chihuahua, Best of Thai Noodle, and Tasty Bites.

Find more inspiration at the Gluten-Free Menu Swap, hosted this week by Asparagus Thin with the theme of Movies (so sorry, this would have been a really fun theme, but it was all I could do to pull together a menu – a theme was beyond me this week) and the huge round-up of Menu Plan Monday posts over at OrgJunkie.

3 comments on “Starting out simple with a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

  1. Courtney says:

    wow that pasta looks great!! i love asian slaw too so !

    thai food has become a new favorite of mine, its easy to find items that suite certain diets and the taste is to die for! i need to learn to cook some at home I just do have tons of room to stock the pantry for it!

    • scrumptious says:

      Yum! Thai food is a total favorite here, as well. Thai Kitchen makes some some good-tasting red and green curries that come in a little jar (you only need a bit) and these are great with a can of coconut milk and some veggies and tofu. Curry paste from scratch is *really* time consuming – both gathering all the ingredients and then making the paste. I used to have a big batch I kept in the freezer, but I’ve never had the energy to take that on again!

  2. Erin says:

    This all sounds so good! I love seeing other vegan menu plans. What is sloppy sushi? I love sushi out and have bought everything I need to make it at home but I’m so intimidated by the process that I keep putting off making it!

Leave a Reply

