Going Dutch on a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but Duck is an amazing thrifter. He has amazing skill and amazing luck. Practically our entire house is furnished and decorated from thrifted or free furniture, artwork, cookware, appliances… I could go on and on. The best was when we needed a new sleeper-sofa. Duck picked out the exact one he thought would work best for us from the Ikea catalogue. Then he used his incredible powers of thrifting to find both pieces – the mattress and the frame – from separate people on craigslist, one for free and one for a fraction of the original cost.

lecreuset_top

His most recent conquest is our very shiny, very beautiful, very orange Le Creuset Dutch oven (well, according to them it’s a French oven, but I think they’re just being snobs). We’ve been wanting a Dutch oven for a long, long time, but even used they still sell for hundreds of dollars. I’m not even going to say how much (or little, rather) Duck found this one for, but I will say the woman we got it from was fully in her right mind and understood what a treasure she was bestowing on us, and when she showed us her stunning, brand-new set of cobalt blue Le Creuset cookware we felt quite equanimous about accepting from her our incredible bargain.

We lugged it home (they tell you and they tell you, but still nothing prepared me for how heavy this baby actually is) and thunked it proudly on the stove. Where it sat, admired, for several days.

lecreuset_side

“Do you remember why we wanted a Dutch oven?,” I finally asked Duck as we basked in the warm glow from our stovetop.

“I just like how they look,” he told me, gesturing to the vibrant enamel glaze that starts out fiery orange at the bottom of the pot and then fades up to almost sunrise yellow.

“But what did we want to cook in it?”

I remembered that at some point I decided I needed a Dutch oven, that there was something I just couldn’t cook without it, but now more than a year later I had no idea what that was.

Duck shrugged. His job was done. The prize had been attained. But as I wracked my brain and scoured the internet, I had to wonder – had we just gotten the world’s best deal on the world’s heaviest paperweight?

(Here’s the thing, in case you’re wondering if I’ve never cracked a cookbook in my life. I know what you use a Dutch oven for, but, you see, we’re vegetarians.)

Finally I came across a recipe online for Wine Braised Lentils over Toast, with credit given to Deborah Madison from her cookbook Vegetarian Suppers. This is one of my favorite cookbooks, and so when I saw that, memories clicked back into place. Debbie M. to the rescue again, this time incarnated as the Queen of the Meatless Dutch Oven.

So, without further ado, I present you with a meal plan designed for a week of glorious, vegan, gluten-free celebration of that enameled treasure of the stovetop, that weighty jewel of the kitchen, the Dutch oven.

Monday
Wine braised lentils over toast with Tuscan kale and pearl onions (Vegetarian Suppers)

Tuesday
Butternut squash green curry with mushrooms, eggplant, and tofu (Vegetarian Suppers)

Wednesday
Brussels sprouts and mushroom ragout with herbed vegan, GF dumplings (Vegetarian Suppers)

Thursday
Braised fennel with saffron rice timbale (Vegetarian Suppers)

Friday
Grits and greens with spinach, chard, scallions, parsley and dill (Vegetarian Suppers)

Saturday
Moroccan chickpea stew with harissa and apricots

Sunday
Greek-style braised green beans
Gigantes in savory tomato sauce (using canned gigantes beans)
Tzatziki

This week I have the honor of hosting the weekly Gluten-Free Menu Swap, and of course I self-servingly chose Dutch ovens as our theme! Check back as the day goes on for more wonderful gluten-free menu plans from all over the web.

Heather at Celiac Family is getting her Thanksgiving planning in gear (hmm, I should be doing that, shouldn’t I?) and on top of that she has a delicious, ambitious week planned. Butter chicken, boneless pork ribs, and GF pizza will all be new recipes this week, capped off by a Leftovers Buffet that’s sure to be gourmet if the rest of the menu is any indication of the contents of Heather’s fridge!

Kim at Gluten Free Is Life is enjoying glorious weather and a perfectly Fall menu. Bourbon chicken, honey-baked lentils, and sweet potato hash browns just conjure up crisp, clear days with lots of running around outside followed by tummy-warming suppers. She also just celebrated her anniversary – Happy Anniversary Kim & Aaron!

Deb at Green V-Neck is miserably hung-over but still managed to put together a fabulous vegetarian, gluten-free menu with international flair. A little visit to the British Isles with lentil and rice shepherd’s pie, all kinds of Indian goodness with rajma masala and bean curry, and some Mexican heat to banish that hangover for good with her taco salad and black bean soup with guacamole. Hope you feel better soon, Deb!

Cheryl at Gluten Free Goodness is still hampered by her kitchen remodel, but she pulls off a spectacular menu as well. (Maybe our theme this week should be “triumph through adversity”!) More fall flavors, with turkey and celery in chestnut sauce, rosemary salmon, and something I’d never heard of before that has now become the new object of my obsession – hazelnut butter cups. Yum!

Esther of The Lilac Kitchen is trying to get more veggies back into her meal plan, and she succeeds wildly this week with a mouth-watering menu that includes sweet potato rostis, bean and veg stew, and butternut squash gratin. And just so things don’t get too wholesome, there’s an amazing white wine and cream sauce in there as well…

For a huge compendium of menu plans (most not veg or GF), check out the Menu Plan Monday round-up over at OrgJunkie.

Oh! And if you’ve been meaning to share a favorite bean, lentil, or other pulse or legume recipe for the Steady Pulse event, it’s not too late! Just send it to me by tomorrow (Nov. 17th) and it will still make it into Wednesday’s round-up and of course into the final Recipes You Can Count On compendium.
pulse_logo

14 comments on “Going Dutch on a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

  1. […] In My Box is hosting this week’s gluten-free menu swap with the them of “Dutch Ovens”.  I don’t have anything on this week’s menu that would utilize my dutch oven, but I do occasionally use mine to make pot roast with potatoes & carrots.  With the weather getting colder, it may be time to break it out & cook up a great roast! […]

  2. Kimberly says:

    Your menu looks great!!! Thanks for hosting. Here is my menu for the week:

    http://glutenfreeislife.wordpress.com/2009/11/15/weekly-menu-plan-november-15-2009/

    Kim

  3. maggie says:

    Congrats on your acquisition. You will LOVE having a dutch oven. We use ours for everything, since it’s so easy to clean. Soup, pasta sauce, stew, beans, braised things…

  4. Micco says:

    What a sweet score!

    And you’re in luck: check my gluten-free section for a dumpling recipe.

    • scrumptious says:

      This is a score! I was hoping someone might have a recipe for me, but I cant always count on my menu posts to have that interactive component.

      You are such an amazing gluten-free ally. We are lucky to have you experimenting on our behalf!

  5. deb says:

    I had one of those, same color and everything….and then I dropped it on my ceramic tile floor and it broke. It doesn’t look like it would break, but it did. It wasn’t until a year later that I remembered Le Creuset has a lifetime warranty on it. And then I cried.

    I’ll be putting up my vegan GF menu later, I have some hangover maintenance to take care of first.

  6. […] week’s theme is hosted by Scrumptious of In my box, and she’s chosen dutch ovens.  I love my dutch oven…especially when it gets cold. […]

  7. Esther says:

    Oh so that’s what a Dutch oven is we call it a casserole. I have a cobalt blue one just like that, other than the colour of course it was a very well received wedding present from a lovely aunt of mine.
    My menu will be up in a bit honest.

  8. Dia says:

    My son LOVES dutch oven cooking – has lighter weight ones, (yes, plural) as they camp with their horses, so can’t be carrying the whole kitchen sink! & he cooks the ‘traditional’ way, with a concave lid that holds charcoal!! He has a special little charcoal heater, & the reciepes tell how many pieces to have on the lid! (it’s on a bed of coals as well)
    I’m asking him for a fav – he’s even done upsidedown cake, brownies, etc!! (he’s not gluten free, but my dau & I are) He says ‘I could make one’ :) . . . I’ll see what he comes up with!

    Thanks for stopping by the Vale, & commenting on my web weaving tutorial :) You’d do a great job building them for folks!

  9. Andi says:

    Every time I look at one of your menus I wish that I was eating at your house!! It looks like a great week of cooking – makes me think that maybe I need a dutch oven too!

Leave a Reply

