Cheese, glorious cheese, for a gluten-free, vegetarian Menu Plan Monday

cheese_menu

This past week found me even more tired than the one before it. I still went out quite a bit and got a lot done, I just spent all the interim times collapsed in a heap. One of the big tasks I accomplished was a major shopping trip to the food co-op, where I hadn’t been since January. This meant I had cheese in the house for the first time in over a month. And it was cheese that came to my rescue this week, as the savior of the tired person. Cheese turns a snack into a meal and answers the question “I’m so hungry but so tired, what shall I have for dinner?” with a single, glorious word. (Oh, and for the record, I was way too tired to have taken the photos of Bravo Farms cheddar, Cowgirl Creamery Red Hawk, and Clover Stornetta Monterey jack up above – all the pics of these humane, local, sustainable cheeses are cadged from the interweb!)

So read on for a very simple and decidedly NON-vegan menu plan. (Sorry to all my vegan friends that there is little here for you this week. And don’t worry, vegan Duck managed nicely on his own – things made with wheat are another easy answer to the dinner question.) This week’s Gluten-Free Menu Swap is hosted by that goddess of gluten-free and vegan blogging, Sea at Book Yum. Her theme for the week was nuts, and while my menu isn’t exactly peppered with them, I did end up eating a few this week. Toasted walnuts in the arugula salad, pumpkin seeds in the salsa (they’re like a nut, right?) and handfuls of almonds during the early part of the week before I went to the store and we had nothing else to eat in the house.

This week the huge compendium of Menu Plan Mondays from all over the web, usually hosted at I’m an Organizing Junkie, is being hosted by $5 Dinners. Take a look at the list – there’s something there for everyone!

And don’t forget! The deadline for this month’s Sugar High Friday dessert event is March 23rd. I really hope to see you all there!

shf_logo

Monday:
GF mac and cheese with baby broccoli

Tuesday:
Tangy red lentils with goat yogurt and mustard seeds
Stir-fry of cabbage, red onion, and carrots with white rice

Wednesday:
Salad of arugula, apples, warm tempeh bacon and toasted walnuts with Hollyhock dressing
Quinoa with borscht, yogurt, and caraway seeds

Thursday:
Raw foods salad of bok choy, carrots, daikon and kelp noodles with an almond butter-coconut water-cider vinegar dressing
Sprouted corn quesadilla with Clover jack cheese and pumpkin seed salsa

Friday:
Amy’s Lentil Vegetable soup
GF toast with Bravo Farms cheddar and Maille tarragon mustard

Saturday:
Pan-cooked frittata of eggs, bok choy, carrots, daikon radish, Bravo Farms cheddar, roasted green chiles, quinoa, and pumpkin seed salsa

Sunday:
Pink lady apple, GF black pepper crackers, Cowgirl Creamery Red Hawk cheese

2 comments on “Cheese, glorious cheese, for a gluten-free, vegetarian Menu Plan Monday

  1. […] Scrumptious at In my Box planned a full and delicious vegetarian menu, including a raw foods kelp noodle salad with bok choy, carrots, daikon and kelp noodles with an almond butter-coconut water-cider vinegar dressing. Sounds good to me! […]

  2. NAOmni says:

    Looks great. I really think I’m going to participate and how to have a chosen dessert tonight…

    NAOmni

Leave a Reply

