Announcing Sugar High Fridays #53: The Test of Time

I am delighted and honored to be hosting the March edition of Sugar High Fridays, the lick-your-plate delicious, incredibly long-running blog event created by Jennifer of The Domestic Goddess. Each month a new theme brings bakers and other treat-makers together from all over the web to show off their sweet, sweet talent and creativity.

shf_logo

I’m super excited about the theme I picked for us this month:
The Test of  Time – Desserts over a century old.
From Eve’s apple to Alinea‘s “transparency of raspberry and rose petal,” we humans have always had a sweet tooth and always will. What methods of satisfying our cravings have stood the test of time, getting passed on through the years? And what treasures from the past are languishing somewhere out there, waiting to be rediscovered?

Here’s a chance to show off your great-grandmother’s recipe, handed down since the old country and faithfully reproduced from a faded index card. Or to recreate some strange and long-forgotten ancient dish from medieval Europe, feudal Japan, or indigenous America and see how it pleases the modern palate. You’re also welcome to put your own fresh spin on an old dessert, as long as you include in your post a recipe or a description for the dish as it was in its original time period. Bonus points (in the form of SHF glory, of course!) for making a dessert that’s reeeeally old and/or using an ingredient or piece of cookware that is itself actually over a century old.

The fine print, etc…

  • Make a dessert that is over a century old, then write a post about it on your blog. As mentioned above, if you are doing a “new spin on an old classic,” include in your post a recipe or description for the dish from its original time period. If you have the energy and interest, it would definitely be fun to hear some of your dessert’s history, but at the minimum tell us what era your dish is from.
  • In your post, please link to this post as well as to the SHF page at The Domestic Goddess. You are welcome to use the SHF #53 logo above or this smaller version:shf_small_logo
  • Write and post your entry by Monday, March 23rd. Then send me an email with the following information:
  • - Your name
    - Your blog name and URL
    - Your post’s title and URL
    - One photo (if applicable), sized to no larger than 200 x 200 pixels (does not need to be square, but the largest dimension should be no bigger     than  200px), with your blog name in the filename
    - If you aren’t a blogger and would like to participate, please email your well-edited entry and photo (if you have one) to me and I will post it here

puddingsIllustration from The New York Cook Book by Marie Martinelo, published in 1892
From American Treasures of the Library of Congress

16 comments on “Announcing Sugar High Fridays #53: The Test of Time

  1. Marija says:

    I love your theme! It’s amazing!

    I’ve been doing a research of Serbian Medieval Cuisine, but unfortunately found no sweets :( I guess I’ll have to dig some more :)

    • scrumptious says:

      @Marija: Thank you! I love your blog SO much and think it is so beautiful! And it does seem like dessert wasn’t a big part of medieval life; I think people had their savory and sweet throughout the courses of their meal. I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  2. Friedl says:

    I’d love to participate, but I have absolutely NO inspiration, Lol. Perhaps when lightning strikes….

  3. digigirl says:

    I’ve been waiting for the new SHF announcement – I just started my blog and I’ve been wanting to participate, so this one will be my first. For years, I took part in a medieval re-creation group, so I happen to have a few medieval cookbooks at home – now’s my big chance to use them! Yay!

  4. scrumptious says:

    @Friedl – I will think sparkling thoughts to try to send some lightning your way! Let me know if you would like some resources for inspiration! I came across some fun sites when I was trying to find pictures to use for the graphic, with recipes from the 19th century all the way back to ancient times!

    @Digigirl – I am so excited to see what you concoct for your first ever SHF! What is your blog? I would love to check it out!

  5. [...] am also sending this recipe to In My Box, hosting this month’s Sugar High Fridays #53, created by Jennifer of The Domestic [...]

  6. Friedl says:

    I think it worked! I actually got an idea! So I’m in.
    But I AM curious about what 19th century recipes you might have found… Do post them, after the round-up or something :-)

  7. Pontch says:

    Wow, this sound like a real challenge.
    I’ll go do some research … :-)
    Thank you.

  8. digigirl says:

    Huh. I thought it would be linked to my name! My blog is http://www.DontForgetDelicious.com

  9. lisamichele says:

    Thank you so much for the heads up on this month’s SHF! I’m going to try and squeeze this month’s challenge in since I’m currently recovering from knee reconstructive surgery and everything I make requires a rotating entourage of helpers who bring me stuff from the kitchen, put stuff in the oven etc..so I try to limit the amount of baking and cooking I do. If I miss this one, since I’m doing the DB challenge, I’ll surely enter the next one..but I’m going to try for this one!

    BTW, I was looking through my late paternal grandma’s recipe box, and she has some recipes handed down from HER mom and one of them was for Angel food cake! I looked it up, and sure enough, it originated in the 19th century, but didn’t really become hugely popular until the 1960′s! Who woulda ‘thunk’ it? :)

  10. scrumptious says:

    @Pontch – I hope it’s the fun kind of challenge! I am excited to see what your research turns up!

    @Lisa – The original Angel Food Cake – that sounds intriguing! I am so jealous that you have your grandma’s recipe box, with recipes in it from your great-grandma. What a treasure-trove!

  11. ----HAYATCEMRESİ---- says:

    very enteresting your blog,bye-bye!

    http://hayatcemresi.wordpress.com/

  12. [...] A Tarte of Strawberryes 23 March 2009 No Comment Hello there! If you are new here, you might want to subscribe to the RSS feed for updates on this topic. This is a recipe for the monthly Sugar High Friday blogging event created by the Domestic Goddess. This month’s very creative theme was chosen by In My Box. [...]

  13. [...] Admit it, you think this is my great grandmother’s jam cake. Oh no my friend, this is my grandmother’s great grandmother’s jam cake. My mom and I did the math and we are figuring this recipe is at least 130 years old. And this is the best part, check out what my mom emailed me when I asked for any really old recipes to qualify for this Sugar High Friday theme of heirloom recipes: [...]

  14. [...] thought about entering these cookies into Sugar High Friday’s event – The Test of Time. In order to do so, the dish had to be over one hundred years old or a reinvention of a dish that [...]

  15. […] Admit it, you think this is my great grandmother’s jam cake. Oh no my friend, this is my grandmother’s great grandmother’s jam cake. My mom and I did the math and we are figuring this recipe is at least 130 years old. And this is the best part, check out what my mom emailed me when I asked for any really old recipes to qualify for this Sugar High Friday theme of heirloom recipes: […]

Leave a Reply

