Cleaning out the fridge to find a vegetarian, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

washoku_menu1

It’s another week’s worth of retroactive menu planning! Why retroactive? Check out my post here for an explanation. Much of this week’s menu is based around the results of my New Year’s project – a thorough reorganization of my fridge. Basically I used a burst of energy to clean out my refrigerator for two days straight, staying up until 4 am on the second night to finish cooking everything I pulled out of the fridge. The results were a tidy fridge full of lovely little things to eat, which went into our meals in various combinations.

Check out more divinely, deliciously gluten-free menu plans at the Gluten-Free Menu Swap hosted this week at Fresh Ginger. This week our GF Menu Swap hostess set us the theme of “Local.” And what could be more local, I ask you, than “shopping” in my own refrigerator? (I hear all the “recessionistas” are trying to “shop their closets” these days- maybe I can kick off a foodie trend…) Our week also featured Duck’s homegrown collard greens, right from his little plot in the back yard. It was a good week for local, and a good week for eating in general!

Monday:

Crock-pot lentil-spinach curry with quinoa
Baked beets and onions with horseradish sauce
Roasted carrots with parsley
Balsamic roasted fennel

Tuesday:
Homemade falafel with quinoa and lemon-miso-tahini sauce
Carrot and daikon salad with black and white sesame seeds

Wednesday:
Chili-glazed tofu
Crock-pot lentil-spinach curry
Baked beets and onions with horseradish sauce

Thursday:
Eden Foods 100% Buckwheat soba noodles with steamed kale, roasted zucchini, and sauteed portabella mushrooms and red onions, dressed with kale sauce

Friday:
Home-grown collard greens with walnuts and raisins
Deborah Madison tofu
Quinoa with lemon-miso-tahini sauce

Saturday:
Mariposa Bakery GF pizza crust with pesto-tomato sauce, pine nuts, goat gouda, red onions, black olives, mushrooms

Sunday:
Leftovers!

Treats:
Cranberry Chutney Cobbler
Homemade Applesauce

As always you can check out the whole world of food blogger menus over at Organizing Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday compendium. To find out where next week’s Gluten-Free Menu Swap will be, visit the info page at GF Goodness.

6 comments on “Cleaning out the fridge to find a vegetarian, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday

  1. NAOmni says:

    That crockpot recipe sounds right up my ally if you wouldn’t mind sending it to me! I agree with the cookbook recipe posting, I’ll probably post a pic if I make it, but not much else. I usually post recipes if my friend whom I call Vermonter sends them to me…because they’re usually a hybrid of cookbook and her…but besides that…

    Thanks so much!

    NAOmni

  2. […] of In My Box has collard greens to use!  I can see mine out the window, they are frozen.  Falafel is on the […]

  3. Tara says:

    Crock-pot lentil-spinach curry with quinoa sounds amazing. I would love to know where to find the recipe! I’m a huge fan of quinoa.

    • scrumptious says:

      Hi Tara! The recipe came from The Healthy Vegetarian Slow Cooker cookbook by Judith Finlayson. It is actually Vegetable Curry with Lentils and Spinach, and I served it with quinoa. I’ll email you the recipe and you can give it a try!

  4. Jessica says:

    I’ve seen so many recipes with quinoa, but can’t find it at Henry’s. Where do you get it?

    • scrumptious says:

      Hey Jessica! I’m very lucky to live in San Francisco, where you can get quinoa at the corner market. I buy mine in bulk at the natural foods co-op, but you can get it in a box from nearly any store around here. What area of the country do you live in? You might check your local supermarket’s boxed grains section. And for sure any natural foods store or health food store will carry some version of it, either in bulk or in a package. Good luck finding it! It’s so super great. It cooks faster than rice, and it has a way better nutritional profile (high in protein, low on the glycemix index). I like to cook mine in broth instead of water, and then it is tasty enough to just eat plain.

Leave a Reply

