Box gets spicy: I taste and create!

Duck and I took the train on an adventure last weekend with my niece and her mom. During lunch at an Indian restaurant my niece (who I can, without bias, report is the cutest, smartest, and most awesome three year-old in existence) asked about her meal, “Is everything here vegetarian?” When Duck asked her what vegetarian meant she reported knowingly, “Vegetarian means delicious!”

Big kudos to her mom not only for raising a healthy and thoroughly nourished vegetarian kid, but for providing the kind of quality meals that lead to such synonymous linkage. I came across some other synonyms for “vegetarian” while reading through the food blog Spice of Life, a “homecooking made simple” chronicle of one couple’s kitchen adventures. Spice of Life is my partner for this month’s Taste & Create event, which pairs food blogs and has them each make a recipe from the other’s blog.

Spice of Life is a lovely blog with beautiful photography and very yummy and sophisticated recipes, including some intriguing Filipino recipes (the chief blogger is originally from the Philippines). I had the same problem picking a recipe, though, that I had with my last partner – most of the recipes are meat or wheat!

I finally came across a recipe for Chili-Glazed Tofu over Asparagus and Rice that sounded delicious and also well within my parameters. It was here that I learned some new synonyms for vegetarian, and, let me tell you, I wish I lived in Jescel’s world! Over there, vegetarian is synonymous with “healthy” and also with “feel[ing] like we could eat more and still not feel guilty at all.”

As someone who is entirely vegetarian, I wish I wish I wish this were true! I wish I could be healthy and eat as much as I wanted as long as I just never, ever, ever let a piece of meat cross my lips. Oh beautiful world, I will dream of you as I devour my mountain of lovely, spicy, sticky-sweet tofu fried in peanut oil.

The tofu was even better than I imagined it would be. It’s a pretty similar technique to my everyday Deborah Madison tofu, but the sweet and spicy glaze was sooooo good. It’s not asparagus season, and I feel like I’ve been eating too much rice lately, so I decided to serve the tofu over a quinoa-sesame pilaf prepared Chinese-restaurant-style, little frozen-veggie bits of corn and peas and all!

Thanks so much to Jescel at Spice of Life for a great recipe that will probably get added to my regular weeknight repertoire, to Min at Bad Girl’s Kitchen for organizing this month’s Taste & Create, and to Nicole at For the Love of Food for inventing T&C! You can check out Jescel’s adventure with my recipe at her post, here.

2 comments on “Box gets spicy: I taste and create!

  1. Jescel says:

    Thank you for your kind words. I’m glad you like the sweet-spicy combo for the tofu. The quinoa-sesame pilaf sounds very good…hmnn.. I’m glad to have met you through T&C. I will of course be watching out for those boxes you get..and drool over your produce… LOL.

  2. Ms Heather says:

    what FUN! will have to try the exchange sometime. :)

Leave a Reply

