Tomatillos and Chard: Week of August 20th

My post last week about wondering why my box doesn’t have the allure it used to received more comments and emails than any other post I’ve written. It seems I am not the only Eatwell subscriber to be feeling like the boxes have been of diminishing quality. This week was another routine box of tomatoes, potatoes and zucchini, with the nice additions of chard and tomatillos. I have an idea of how hard it is to farm in a way that tries to keep variety in the boxes each week, so I don’t begrudge Eatwell the long summer of repetition. But I have to acknowledge that my box is neither exciting not particularly useful right now.

In this week’s box:

Cherry tomatoes
Heirloom tomatoes
Shady Lady tomatoes
Basil
Zucchini (2 large ones)
White nectarines (1 large, 2 medium)
Potatoes
Tomatillos
Chard
(There were supposed to be Gypsy sweet peppers – actual ones this time – but I traded them into our trade box for more basil)