Kale: Special Guest Post!

Duck suggested I post about the kale sauce he invented which I am obsessed with. But where he is an improvisational dressing/sauce daredevil in the kitchen, I am intimidated and need my recipe. So he obliged me with not only the recipe, but also an entire guest appearance. The best part is, I got to eat the kale! All of it.

Kale with Kale Sauce

Though kale has been a perennial favorite of ours (see her post and mine), it never quite had that mouth-watering, I must-eat-it-or-I-will-be-miserable quality until I casually whipped up this amazing kale sauce. Now it is the best kind of treat–often requested and happily and easily supplied—that we share with every serving of kale (and anything else we think of pouring it on, for that matter). It is our pleasure to share it with the world, and to encourage you to indulge one of the best food experiences in your life.

Kale with Kale Sauce

Selecting your kale: If you are truly enjoying the fruits (and vegetables) of this blog, your kale is preselected, but if you’re still filling up the shopping cart, I recommend organic kale. My roommates swear by red kale, but I find the green kale (in dinosaur and plain variety) to be the sweetest and most tender.

Cut and Steam: With a steamer tray or a double pot, heat up at least three inches of water (I’ve run out of steam water before, leaving a ruined pot and a smell similar to burned rubber and tooth decay.) Chop your kale into thirds or fourths, depending—you’re looking for bite size, but not too small.

As they transform into succulent pieces of delight: Whip up the sauce!

For One Serving:

1 Garlic clove, crushed or chopped, and toasted in olive oil
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon olive oil
Juice of a 1/4 Meyer lemon (you can use generic if you’re in a pinch, but it’s worth it to go for the brand name on this one)

I honestly always estimate on the sauce, but the key things are a higher vinegar-to-oil ratio, lots of garlic, and a good squeeze of lemon.

Remove and Devour: I think one the reason people don’t like steamed kale is because it’s often not steamed long enough. I take the kale out when it doesn’t need gnashing; just tender and soft, but not wilted. This usually takes about 10-20 minutes, depending on the variety. My rule of thumb is, if there is a stiffness or a crunch, wait three minutes and try then—you won’t ruin it, and you might unlock that delicious sweetness that seems to hide in the kale until it’s just perfectly cooked. Another good tip is to look for a darkening in color: when it all changes to one shade heavier, you’re golden; two shades, and you might have depressed it.

This recipe has been added to roundup of kale recipes over at Book of Yum, one of my favorite GF (mostly) vegan blogs!

5 comments on “Kale: Special Guest Post!

  1. […] I haven’t tried to buy food there in a few years. Duck and I, having almost maxed out on kale (I know, I didn’t think it was possible either!) were craving this yummy chard and walnut dish […]

  2. […] or “how to cook turnip greens” I recommend preparing them, alone or with other greens, steamed and then topped with kale sauce or sauteed “Venice” style or Asian style with ginger and garlic). But the turnips […]

  3. […] Corn quesadillas with tofu cream cheese, kale with kale sauce, salad of Fuji apples and hearts of […]

  4. […] sounding skillet meal from Vegan Express. For a simple and delicious kale preparation, I recommend Kale with Kale Sauce, which Duck invented and which will be the gold-standard go-to kale recipe forever and […]

  5. james5555 says:

    This is one of the best foods you can eat. Very nutrient dense. I make green smoothies with raw kale as the base!

Leave a Reply

